{"what_this_is":"The machine-readable twin of the BankPulse page for one RBI rulebook. Same points, same dates, same paragraph references as the page a person reads. RBI's own wording is not reproduced here: each point names the RBI paragraph, the character offset into the text BankPulse read and the sha256 of that text, so the claim can be checked against RBI's own document.","schema_version":1,"release_id":"d653cdb0a5","generated_at":"2026-09-15T00:33:59.117975+00:00","id":"md10193","title":"Master Direction - Other Remittance Facilities (Updated as on May 06, 2026)","document_kind":"Master Direction","page":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193","status":"In force","importance":{"code":"FYI","label":"FOR INFORMATION","weight":"For information","why":"General RBI update: no desk rule matched — read the source if it touches your work","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"applies_to":{"shown":"Banks that handle foreign money","class_code":"ALL","from":"the document's own title","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"dates":{"prid":"md10193","mode":"four_dates_v1","published":{"label":"Published","value":"Jan 04, 2016","stated":true,"why":"The day RBI put this document out."},"effective":{"label":"Starts to apply","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Not stated separately in this document. Read the rule itself before you assume a start date."},"transition":{"label":"Time to get ready","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Cannot be worked out until the day it starts to apply is known."},"deadline":{"label":"Last date to act","value":"","stated":false,"why":"No date to act by was found in this document. Other dates may sit inside single paragraphs."},"sources":{"published":"doc_date in data/highlights/md10193.json","effective":"none held","transition":"none held","deadline":"none held"}},"rbi_source":{"url":"https://rbi.org.in/Scripts/BS_ViewMasDirections.aspx?id=10193","document_date":"Jan 04, 2016","read_by_bankpulse":"2026-08-21 16:28:00 UTC","text_sha256":"ad361db386e21883173d9664db868d459f57d2f59132d70817624a0a071ca100","word_count":7654,"standing_last_checked":"Standing checked on RBI’s Master Directions index, 15 September 2026, 5:58 am IST."},"counts":{"points_shown":34,"points_naming_an_rbi_paragraph":34,"points_stored":34,"actions":0,"amendments":0},"points":[{"n":1,"claim":"md10193-dba5efde","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Written to every AD bank","plain_english":"RBI addresses this whole rulebook to every Authorised Person dealing in foreign exchange.","rbi_paragraph":"Preamble","rbi_char_offset":2259,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p1","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md10193-70502ae9","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"NOT ALLOWED","heading":"No forex for Nepal, Bhutan","plain_english":"No foreign exchange may be released for travel to Nepal or Bhutan.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 1.3","rbi_char_offset":7055,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p2","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md10193-fc77dc05","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"NOT ALLOWED","heading":"Lottery remittances are banned","plain_english":"Sending money abroad for any lottery scheme is banned outright.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 1.4","rbi_char_offset":7184,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p3","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":4,"claim":"md10193-4608dfbb","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Sits under the LRS cap","plain_english":"These facilities sit inside the 250,000 dollar-a-year Liberalised Remittance Scheme.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3","rbi_char_offset":9696,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p4","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":5,"claim":"md10193-c65eaa3d","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Above cap needs RBI okay","plain_english":"Going over that limit needs the Reserve Bank's own prior permission.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3","rbi_char_offset":9938,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p5","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":6,"claim":"md10193-ccc06846","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"3,000 dollar travel cash limit","plain_english":"Travellers to most countries may carry up to 3000 dollars in cash.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3.1.1","rbi_char_offset":10264,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p6","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":7,"claim":"md10193-866a432b","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Higher limit for Iraq, Libya","plain_english":"Travellers to Iraq or Libya may carry up to 5000 dollars in cash.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3.1.1","rbi_char_offset":10480,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p7","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":8,"claim":"md10193-acbf5d28","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Full cash for Haj pilgrims","plain_english":"Haj and Umrah pilgrims may get their full entitlement released in cash.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3.1.1","rbi_char_offset":10734,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p8","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":9,"claim":"md10193-cdd6e844","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"180 days to surrender cash","plain_english":"A resident gets 180 days to hand back unused foreign exchange to a bank.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3.1.3","rbi_char_offset":11712,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p9","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":10,"claim":"md10193-99ebd944","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"2,000 dollars, no time limit","plain_english":"Returning travellers may keep up to 2000 dollars in cash with no deadline.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3.1.4","rbi_char_offset":12663,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p10","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":11,"claim":"md10193-75e0e88a","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Net salary remittance allowed","plain_english":"Certain foreign staff on deputation may remit up to their full net salary.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3.2","rbi_char_offset":13272,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p11","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":12,"claim":"md10193-307f48d5","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"NRI medical bills covered","plain_english":"A resident may pay an NRI close relative's own medical bills under this rule.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3.3","rbi_char_offset":13942,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p12","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":13,"claim":"md10193-2e2f8ed7","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"No cap on card spending","plain_english":"RBI sets no overall cap on international credit card spending online.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3.4.1","rbi_char_offset":15102,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["credit-card"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p13","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":14,"claim":"md10193-3cd3427c","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"NOT ALLOWED","heading":"No Nepal, Bhutan card use","plain_english":"International credit cards may not be used for payments in Nepal or Bhutan.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3.4.1","rbi_char_offset":16013,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["credit-card","foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p14","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":15,"claim":"md10193-9a813171","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"OPERATIONAL RULES","heading":"Card use stays within limits","plain_english":"Store and smart card use abroad must stay inside ordinary current-account limits.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3.4.4","rbi_char_offset":18622,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["deposit-account"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p15","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":16,"claim":"md10193-a4859791","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"10 day wait on refunds","plain_english":"Prepaid travel card refunds are allowed only after 10 days from the last use.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3.4.5","rbi_char_offset":19034,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p16","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":17,"claim":"md10193-4a3a8028","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"100 dollars held back","plain_english":"On travel-card redemption, up to 100 dollars may be held back by the issuer.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3.4.5","rbi_char_offset":19724,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p17","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":18,"claim":"md10193-626ecad6","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"One per cent donation cap","plain_english":"Companies may donate up to one per cent of past forex earnings, or 5,000,000 dollars.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.1","rbi_char_offset":20210,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":["foreign-exchange"],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p18","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":19,"claim":"md10193-1b0e0864","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Cap on flat-sale agent fees","plain_english":"Commission to sale agents abroad is capped at 25,000 dollars, or five per cent of the remittance.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.2","rbi_char_offset":21490,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p19","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":20,"claim":"md10193-2ed64f37","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"10 million dollar consultancy cap","plain_english":"Infrastructure consultancy remittances are capped at 10,000,000 dollars a project.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.3","rbi_char_offset":21825,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["infrastructure-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p20","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":21,"claim":"md10193-46d3e344","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Five per cent pre-incorporation cap","plain_english":"Pre-incorporation cost reimbursement is capped at five per cent of investment, or 100,000 dollars.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.4","rbi_char_offset":22449,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p21","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":22,"claim":"md10193-d000d474","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"OPERATIONAL RULES","heading":"School fees need no nod","plain_english":"AD banks may sell forex for embassy-run school fees without asking RBI first.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.5","rbi_char_offset":22718,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p22","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":23,"claim":"md10193-f5204c04","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"OPERATIONAL RULES","heading":"Global bid payments allowed","plain_english":"Residents may pay and receive foreign exchange on Government-authorised global bids.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.7","rbi_char_offset":23357,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p23","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":24,"claim":"md10193-dbe107ed","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"OPERATIONAL RULES","heading":"Royalty payments need no nod","plain_english":"AD banks may release royalty payments under tech tie-ups without a separate Commerce Ministry nod.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.9","rbi_char_offset":24057,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p24","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":25,"claim":"md10193-53a28633","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"OPERATIONAL RULES","heading":"Trademark buys need no nod","plain_english":"AD banks may release forex for buying a trademark or franchise without RBI's approval.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.10","rbi_char_offset":24387,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p25","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":26,"claim":"md10193-789f9e69","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"OPERATIONAL RULES","heading":"Keep Form A2 one year","plain_english":"AD banks must keep each Form A2 on file for at least one year.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 6.4","rbi_char_offset":28547,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p26","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":27,"claim":"md10193-32c99f80","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"OPERATIONAL RULES","heading":"Form A2 for every transfer","plain_english":"AD banks must get Form A2 for every cross-border remittance, whatever its size.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 6.5","rbi_char_offset":28734,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p27","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":28,"claim":"md10193-b35c796f","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"OPERATIONAL RULES","heading":"Tax law still applies","plain_english":"AD banks must still follow ordinary tax law on every remittance they process.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 7","rbi_char_offset":29483,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p28","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":29,"claim":"md10193-83be921e","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"NOT ALLOWED","heading":"No call-back service payments","plain_english":"Payment for telephone call-back services may never be remitted abroad.","rbi_paragraph":"Schedule I, item 7","rbi_char_offset":33420,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p29","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md10193-99f5e3ee","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Made under a 2000 rule","plain_english":"This rulebook comes from a Government of India rule made under FEMA in 2000.","rbi_paragraph":"Preamble","rbi_char_offset":2366,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p30","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md10193-f785ac49","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"RBI's own added powers","plain_english":"RBI also issues its own directions to Authorised Persons under a separate FEMA section.","rbi_paragraph":"Preamble para 2","rbi_char_offset":2782,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p31","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md10193-09a11567","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"One place for resident rules","plain_english":"RBI compiled every remittance-facility rule for residents into this one Master Direction.","rbi_paragraph":"Preamble para 3","rbi_char_offset":3135,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p32","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":4,"claim":"md10193-df179cbf","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"NOT ALLOWED","heading":"RBI holds no reader funds","plain_english":"RBI never itself holds individual or company funds for later payout.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 1.5","rbi_char_offset":9105,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p33","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":5,"claim":"md10193-88fb8809","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Deputation under three years","plain_english":"Anyone on deputation for under three years is not permanently resident.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3.2","rbi_char_offset":13602,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10193#p34","layer":"bankpulse"}],"actions":[],"amendments":[],"layers":{"rbi_source":"Facts taken from RBI's own document.","bankpulse":"BankPulse's plain-English summary of RBI's document.","bankpulse_inference":"BankPulse's own inference, not stated by RBI."},"rbi_wording_not_included":"By design. BankPulse never republishes RBI's exact sentences. Use rbi_paragraph with rbi_source.url to read RBI's own words.","terms":"BankPulse's plain-English summaries are BankPulse's own work. The underlying regulation is the Reserve Bank of India's. Always check the RBI document named in rbi_source before acting."}