{"what_this_is":"The machine-readable twin of the BankPulse page for one RBI rulebook. Same points, same dates, same paragraph references as the page a person reads. RBI's own wording is not reproduced here: each point names the RBI paragraph, the character offset into the text BankPulse read and the sha256 of that text, so the claim can be checked against RBI's own document.","schema_version":1,"release_id":"d653cdb0a5","generated_at":"2026-09-15T00:33:59.117975+00:00","id":"md10201","title":"Master Direction – Import of Goods and Services (Updated as on January 12, 2026)","document_kind":"Master Direction","page":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201","status":"In force","importance":{"code":"FYI","label":"FOR INFORMATION","weight":"For information","why":"General RBI update: no desk rule matched — read the source if it touches your work","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"applies_to":{"shown":"All regulated entities","class_code":"ALL","from":"the document's own title","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"dates":{"prid":"md10201","mode":"four_dates_v1","published":{"label":"Published","value":"Jan 04, 2016","stated":true,"why":"The day RBI put this document out."},"effective":{"label":"Starts to apply","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Not stated separately in this document. Read the rule itself before you assume a start date."},"transition":{"label":"Time to get ready","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Cannot be worked out until the day it starts to apply is known."},"deadline":{"label":"Last date to act","value":"","stated":false,"why":"No date to act by was found in this document. Other dates may sit inside single paragraphs."},"sources":{"published":"doc_date in data/highlights/md10201.json","effective":"none held","transition":"none held","deadline":"none held"}},"rbi_source":{"url":"https://rbi.org.in/Scripts/BS_ViewMasDirections.aspx?id=10201","document_date":"Jan 04, 2016","read_by_bankpulse":"2026-08-21 16:28:05 UTC","text_sha256":"cf6700c4981a916be91f87face55bfada2586ba5df072af6d7116358ac93a52d","word_count":13483,"standing_last_checked":"Standing checked on RBI’s Master Directions index, 15 September 2026, 5:58 am IST."},"counts":{"points_shown":42,"points_naming_an_rbi_paragraph":42,"points_stored":42,"actions":0,"amendments":0},"points":[{"n":1,"claim":"md10201-14c74611","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Follow the Foreign Trade Policy","plain_english":"The bank must ensure imports match the government's Foreign Trade Policy in force.","rbi_paragraph":"Section I","rbi_char_offset":6137,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":["foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p1","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md10201-0025bc43","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Six months to settle","plain_english":"An import bill must be settled within six months of the shipment date.","rbi_paragraph":"Section B.5.1","rbi_char_offset":10145,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p2","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md10201-863b1aae","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Interest capped at three years","plain_english":"Interest on a delayed import payment is only payable for up to three years from the shipment date.","rbi_paragraph":"Section B.5.1","rbi_char_offset":10829,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p3","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":4,"claim":"md10201-ab208cd2","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Deferred payment becomes trade credit","plain_english":"A deferred-payment deal beyond three years for capital goods, or beyond one year for goods, is treated as trade credit.","rbi_paragraph":"Section B.5.2","rbi_char_offset":11209,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p4","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":5,"claim":"md10201-34b66b2d","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Books have no time limit","plain_english":"Remittances for importing books carry no time limit at all.","rbi_paragraph":"Section B.5.3","rbi_char_offset":11603,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p5","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":6,"claim":"md10201-8b487cb6","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Extension in six-month steps","plain_english":"The bank can extend the settlement deadline by six months at a time, up to three years in total.","rbi_paragraph":"Section B.5.4","rbi_char_offset":11834,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":"Six months of extension, taken six times in a row, comes to three years -- the same three years RBI's own words allow in total.","anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p6","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":7,"claim":"md10201-ab7d367a","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"USD 1 million extension cap","plain_english":"A further extension needs outstanding under USD 1 million, or 10 per cent of average imports, whichever is lower.","rbi_paragraph":"Section B.5.4","rbi_char_offset":12727,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p7","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":8,"claim":"md10201-03fe3a55","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Guarantee needed past USD 200,000","plain_english":"An advance remittance for goods over USD 200,000 needs a standby letter of credit or a bank guarantee.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.1.1","rbi_char_offset":17061,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p8","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":9,"claim":"md10201-cb94f7c5","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Track record waives the guarantee","plain_english":"A trusted importer can skip that guarantee for advance remittances up to USD 5,000,000.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.1.1","rbi_char_offset":17748,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p9","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":10,"claim":"md10201-3da84ef2","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Government waiver above USD 100,000","plain_english":"A public-sector importer needs a Finance Ministry waiver before an advance remittance past USD 100,000.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.1.1","rbi_char_offset":18278,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p10","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":11,"claim":"md10201-296ee9fe","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Aircraft advance, USD 50 million","plain_english":"Advance payment for an aircraft or helicopter can go up to USD 50 million without a bank guarantee.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.1.3","rbi_char_offset":22070,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p11","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":12,"claim":"md10201-539b60c4","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Six months to import it","plain_english":"The aircraft or helicopter must physically arrive within six months of the remittance, or three years for capital goods.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.1.3","rbi_char_offset":23536,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p12","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":13,"claim":"md10201-3e9ae547","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Fifteen days to prove it","plain_english":"The importer must give proof of import within fifteen days after that period closes.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.1.3","rbi_char_offset":23669,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p13","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":14,"claim":"md10201-1b6556e1","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Shipping vessels, USD 50 million","plain_english":"A shipping vessel can also be paid for in advance up to USD 50 million, without a bank guarantee.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.1.3","rbi_char_offset":24876,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p14","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":15,"claim":"md10201-de67e876","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Services guarantee past USD 500,000","plain_english":"Advance payment for services over USD 500,000 needs a guarantee from an international bank.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.1.4","rbi_char_offset":25322,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p15","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":16,"claim":"md10201-2524e2a2","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Services waiver above USD 100,000","plain_english":"A public-sector importer of services needs a Finance Ministry approval to skip the guarantee past USD 100,000.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.1.4","rbi_char_offset":25802,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p16","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":17,"claim":"md10201-6dc640fb","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Direct bills under USD 300,000","plain_english":"An importer may receive bills straight from the overseas supplier if the bill is under USD 300,000.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.6.1","rbi_char_offset":30462,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p17","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":18,"claim":"md10201-f9b10ee3","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Diamond importers, USD 300,000 line","plain_english":"A non-status-holder diamond importer may also receive bills directly from the supplier up to USD 300,000.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.6.2","rbi_char_offset":31105,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p18","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":19,"claim":"md10201-87976714","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Certificate route, USD 1 million","plain_english":"A CEO or auditor certificate can stand in for the Bill of Entry if the remittance is under USD 1,000,000.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.7.2","rbi_char_offset":35563,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":["foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p19","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":20,"claim":"md10201-4113f9fa","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Rs.100 crore net worth needed","plain_english":"The listed company using that certificate route must show a net worth of at least Rs.100 crore.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.7.2","rbi_char_offset":35656,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p20","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":21,"claim":"md10201-53b890ce","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Write-off allowed up to 5%","plain_english":"The bank may close a Bill of Entry with a mismatch up to 5 per cent of invoice value.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.8","rbi_char_offset":39485,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p21","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":22,"claim":"md10201-0812d5f9","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"One year to keep paperwork","plain_english":"Import documents must be kept on file for one year after they are verified.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.9","rbi_char_offset":42884,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p22","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":23,"claim":"md10201-fa4a31d5","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Nominated banks import on consignment","plain_english":"Banks and agencies named by the DGFT may import gold on a consignment basis.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.11.1","rbi_char_offset":44309,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p23","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":24,"claim":"md10201-2df6c37c","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Gold coins allowed, sale barred","plain_english":"Importing gold coins and medallions is allowed, but banks still may not sell them to customers.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.11.1","rbi_char_offset":45004,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p24","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":25,"claim":"md10201-6cce3d86","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Eleven days for IIBX gold","plain_english":"A Qualified Jeweller gets eleven days to bring in gold bought through India's bullion exchange.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.11.3","rbi_char_offset":46973,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p25","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":26,"claim":"md10201-80268e02","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Precious-metal credit, 90 days","plain_english":"Credit for importing platinum, palladium, rhodium or silver may not run past 90 days from the shipment date.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.12.1","rbi_char_offset":50813,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p26","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":27,"claim":"md10201-4f69c012","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Clean credit extends 180 days","plain_english":"A diamond importer's clean credit, with no letter of credit behind it, may run up to 180 days.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.12.1","rbi_char_offset":51372,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p27","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":28,"claim":"md10201-29cb9796","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Factoring needs no RBI approval","plain_english":"The bank may sign up with an international factoring company without asking RBI first.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.13","rbi_char_offset":53664,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p28","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":29,"claim":"md10201-850c720c","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Merchanting trade, nine months total","plain_english":"A merchanting trade must be finished within nine months, with the money out for no more than six months.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.14.1","rbi_char_offset":55813,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":["foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p29","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":30,"claim":"md10201-467baf1a","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Merchanting advance guarantee, USD 500,000","plain_english":"A merchanting trader's advance for the import leg needs a bank guarantee once it passes USD 500,000.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.14.1","rbi_char_offset":57905,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p30","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":31,"claim":"md10201-49c13e5f","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"5% unrealised export, caution listing","plain_english":"A merchanting trader with 5 per cent or more of its export earnings unrealised is put on the caution list.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.14.1","rbi_char_offset":58859,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p31","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":32,"claim":"md10201-b61ecf52","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"No financial-intermediary trades","plain_english":"A merchanting trader must be a genuine trader of goods, not just a financial go-between.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.14.2","rbi_char_offset":58983,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p32","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":33,"claim":"md10201-0621901b","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"No third-party payments in trade","plain_english":"Neither leg of a merchanting trade may be paid to a third party.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.14.4","rbi_char_offset":60930,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p33","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":34,"claim":"md10201-84cfb2c6","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"No agency commission, normally","plain_english":"Agency commission is normally not allowed on a merchanting trade.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.14.5","rbi_char_offset":61042,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p34","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":35,"claim":"md10201-86e08a40","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"OPGSP route caps USD 2,000","plain_english":"The online payment-gateway route for small imports is capped at USD 2,000 per transaction.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.15","rbi_char_offset":62894,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Trade desk","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p35","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":36,"claim":"md10201-9ecd0e93","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"No penalty for regulatory delay","plain_english":"The bank may not charge a penalty just for a delay in meeting regulatory paperwork.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.17","rbi_char_offset":66423,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p36","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md10201-b5d0db7b","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Three months, then follow up","plain_english":"If evidence of import is still missing after three months, the bank must chase it for three more months.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.10","rbi_char_offset":43496,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p37","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md10201-fc25182c","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Gold returns due the 10th","plain_english":"Half-yearly and monthly gold-import returns are due by the 10th of the next month, even with nothing to report.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.11.1","rbi_char_offset":46166,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p38","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md10201-ff0ba9a8","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Two days to forward money","plain_english":"The gateway provider must forward the payment to the overseas exporter within two days of receiving it.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.15","rbi_char_offset":63167,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p39","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md10201-41c1e3cd","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Who this is written to","plain_english":"This Master Direction is written for the banks licensed to handle foreign exchange.","rbi_paragraph":"Introductory letter","rbi_char_offset":2579,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":["foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p40","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md10201-42946141","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"WHAT IT REPLACES","heading":"Rule changes come as circulars","plain_english":"RBI changes these rules through A.P. (DIR Series) Circulars, and this Master Direction is updated to match.","rbi_paragraph":"Introductory letter","rbi_char_offset":4191,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p41","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md10201-50b03567","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Hardcopy no longer needed","plain_english":"Submitting a paper copy of the Bill of Entry was stopped from December 1, 2016, since IDPMS holds it now.","rbi_paragraph":"Section C.8","rbi_char_offset":37959,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md10201#p42","layer":"bankpulse"}],"actions":[],"amendments":[],"layers":{"rbi_source":"Facts taken from RBI's own document.","bankpulse":"BankPulse's plain-English summary of RBI's document.","bankpulse_inference":"BankPulse's own inference, not stated by RBI."},"rbi_wording_not_included":"By design. BankPulse never republishes RBI's exact sentences. Use rbi_paragraph with rbi_source.url to read RBI's own words.","terms":"BankPulse's plain-English summaries are BankPulse's own work. The underlying regulation is the Reserve Bank of India's. Always check the RBI document named in rbi_source before acting."}