{"what_this_is":"The machine-readable twin of the BankPulse page for one RBI rulebook. Same points, same dates, same paragraph references as the page a person reads. RBI's own wording is not reproduced here: each point names the RBI paragraph, the character offset into the text BankPulse read and the sha256 of that text, so the claim can be checked against RBI's own document.","schema_version":1,"release_id":"d653cdb0a5","generated_at":"2026-09-15T00:33:59.117975+00:00","id":"md11060","title":"Master Direction - Lending to Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises (MSME) Sector (Updated as on February 09, 2026)","document_kind":"Master Direction","page":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060","status":"In force","importance":{"code":"FYI","label":"FOR INFORMATION","weight":"For information","why":"General RBI update: no desk rule matched — read the source if it touches your work","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"applies_to":{"shown":"All regulated entities","class_code":"ALL","from":"the document's own title","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"dates":{"prid":"md11060","mode":"four_dates_v1","published":{"label":"Published","value":"Jul 24, 2017","stated":true,"why":"The day RBI put this document out."},"effective":{"label":"Starts to apply","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Not stated separately in this document. Read the rule itself before you assume a start date."},"transition":{"label":"Time to get ready","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Cannot be worked out until the day it starts to apply is known."},"deadline":{"label":"Last date to act","value":"","stated":false,"why":"No date to act by was found in this document. Other dates may sit inside single paragraphs."},"sources":{"published":"doc_date in data/highlights/md11060.json","effective":"none held","transition":"none held","deadline":"none held"}},"rbi_source":{"url":"https://rbi.org.in/Scripts/BS_ViewMasDirections.aspx?id=11060","document_date":"Jul 24, 2017","read_by_bankpulse":"2026-08-21 16:26:41 UTC","text_sha256":"cd85f535b1a2c280d647184cf95eaeea92c4f9a28fdff36432c30ba6a87c9dbb","word_count":4282,"standing_last_checked":"Standing checked on RBI’s Master Directions index, 15 September 2026, 5:58 am IST."},"counts":{"points_shown":36,"points_naming_an_rbi_paragraph":36,"points_stored":36,"actions":0,"amendments":1},"points":[{"n":1,"claim":"md11060-f771f792","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Applies to commercial banks only","plain_english":"This rule applies to all Scheduled Commercial Banks, but not Regional Rural Banks.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 1.2","rbi_char_offset":3599,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p1","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md11060-5a845630","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Micro enterprise limits","plain_english":"A micro enterprise invests up to 2.5 crore rupees and turns over up to 10 crore rupees.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 2.1","rbi_char_offset":5061,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Credit","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":"A firm invests ₹2 crore in machinery and turns over ₹8 crore a year. Both figures are under ₹2.5 crore and ₹10 crore, so it is a micro enterprise. A firm turning over ₹15 crore is not.","anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p2","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md11060-048ad313","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Small enterprise limits","plain_english":"A small enterprise invests up to 25 crore rupees and turns over up to 100 crore rupees.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 2.1","rbi_char_offset":5205,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Credit","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p3","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":4,"claim":"md11060-8664d5e1","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Medium enterprise limits","plain_english":"A medium enterprise invests up to 125 crore rupees and turns over up to 500 crore rupees.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 2.1","rbi_char_offset":5353,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Credit","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p4","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":5,"claim":"md11060-946a2a6d","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Udyam registration required","plain_english":"Every MSME must register online on the Udyam portal for its certificate.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 2.2","rbi_char_offset":5503,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["msme-loan"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p5","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":6,"claim":"md11060-a447815a","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Bank follows Udyam classification","plain_english":"Banks must use the Udyam certificate's own classification for priority sector lending.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 2.2","rbi_char_offset":5639,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Credit","team":null,"products_covered":["msme-loan"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p6","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":7,"claim":"md11060-b250d731","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Retail traders count as MSME","plain_english":"Retail and wholesale traders now count as MSMEs for priority sector lending.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 2.3","rbi_char_offset":5758,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Credit","team":null,"products_covered":["msme-loan"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p7","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":8,"claim":"md11060-e69b435c","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"No collateral under 20 lakh","plain_english":"Banks cannot ask for collateral on MSE loans up to 20 lakh rupees.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.1","rbi_char_offset":7151,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Credit","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p8","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":9,"claim":"md11060-a6f8ef4a","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"PMEGP loans need no collateral","plain_english":"PMEGP-financed units also get collateral-free loans up to 20 lakh rupees.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.1","rbi_char_offset":7277,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Credit","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p9","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":10,"claim":"md11060-8fc725bc","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"14-day decision on small loans","plain_english":"Banks must decide on MSE loans up to 25 lakh rupees within 14 working days.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.4","rbi_char_offset":10078,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Credit","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p10","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":11,"claim":"md11060-401e02e4","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Flag stress before NPA","plain_english":"Banks must flag early stress in an MSME account before it turns bad, using three SMA sub-categories.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.6","rbi_char_offset":13237,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Risk","team":null,"products_covered":["msme-loan"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p11","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":12,"claim":"md11060-e1140e8e","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Track every loan application","plain_english":"Banks must track every MSME loan application through a central e-tracking system.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.7","rbi_char_offset":14008,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["msme-loan"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p12","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":13,"claim":"md11060-a8575bfd","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Written reasons for rejection","plain_english":"Banks must give MSME applicants their rejection reasons in writing.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.7","rbi_char_offset":15067,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["msme-loan"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p13","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":14,"claim":"md11060-08de445a","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"45 days to pay MSME","plain_english":"A buyer and an MSME supplier cannot agree on more than forty-five days to pay.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5.6","rbi_char_offset":22663,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["msme-loan"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p14","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":15,"claim":"md11060-010ba0db","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"3x Bank Rate interest","plain_english":"A late buyer owes compound interest at three times the Bank Rate, compounded monthly.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5.6","rbi_char_offset":22886,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":"A buyer accepts goods on 1 January with no date agreed, so payment is due within forty-five days. Payment still has not reached the supplier. Interest at three times the Bank Rate now applies, with monthly rests.","anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p15","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md11060-d8bb88e2","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"20% MSE credit growth","plain_english":"Banks should grow credit to micro and small units 20 per cent a year.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3.2","rbi_char_offset":6784,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Credit","team":null,"products_covered":["msme-loan"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p16","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md11060-584da34d","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"10% more micro accounts","plain_english":"Banks should grow the count of micro enterprise accounts 10 per cent a year.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3.2","rbi_char_offset":6863,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Credit","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p17","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md11060-27bbdb54","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"60% lending to micro units","plain_english":"60 per cent of all MSE lending should go to micro enterprises.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3.2","rbi_char_offset":6942,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Credit","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p18","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":4,"claim":"md11060-c23a9c18","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Raise limit to 25 lakh","plain_english":"A bank may raise its own no-collateral limit to 25 lakh rupees for good units.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.1","rbi_char_offset":7456,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Credit","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p19","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":5,"claim":"md11060-1089c908","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"1 crore composite loan","plain_english":"Banks may sanction one composite loan of up to 1 crore rupees covering both working capital and term needs.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.2","rbi_char_offset":7966,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Credit","team":null,"products_covered":["working-capital"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p20","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":6,"claim":"md11060-7e904f0b","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"General Credit Card option","plain_english":"Eligible banks may give MSE borrowers a General Credit Card for working capital.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.3","rbi_char_offset":8371,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Credit","team":null,"products_covered":["credit-card","working-capital"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p21","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":7,"claim":"md11060-20228ddf","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Own website tab required","plain_english":"Banks must publish MSME credit information on a separate website tab.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.4","rbi_char_offset":10311,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["msme-loan"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p22","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":8,"claim":"md11060-c221946e","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Publicise settlement scheme","plain_english":"Banks must publicise their One-Time Settlement scheme on their website.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.5","rbi_char_offset":11431,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p23","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":9,"claim":"md11060-dbff0507","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Quarterly pendency data online","plain_english":"Banks must publish loan-pendency data within one month of each quarter's end.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.7","rbi_char_offset":14854,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p24","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":10,"claim":"md11060-00bdb014","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"One MSME branch a district","plain_english":"Public sector banks should open at least one MSME branch per district.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5.1","rbi_char_offset":15879,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":["msme-loan"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p25","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":11,"claim":"md11060-2e952f09","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Special cells or FLC outreach","plain_english":"Banks may set up special cells or use their Financial Literacy Centres for MSME outreach.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5.4","rbi_char_offset":19816,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":["msme-loan"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p26","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":12,"claim":"md11060-999e286d","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Cluster list updated twice yearly","plain_english":"Convenor banks must update their cluster list twice a year, end-March and end-September.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5.5","rbi_char_offset":20588,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p27","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":13,"claim":"md11060-fbfe8e2e","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Lead bank drives cluster credit","plain_english":"The lead bank of a district must promote credit-linkage in every cluster there.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5.5","rbi_char_offset":20990,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p28","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":14,"claim":"md11060-2fe5f590","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Quarterly cluster credit disclosure","plain_english":"Convenor banks must disclose cluster credit every quarter in the set format.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5.5","rbi_char_offset":22084,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p29","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":15,"claim":"md11060-87eb95d4","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Sub-limits to pay MSME dues","plain_english":"Banks should set aside working-capital sub-limits so large borrowers can pay their MSME suppliers.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5.6","rbi_char_offset":23410,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Credit","team":null,"products_covered":["msme-loan","working-capital"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p30","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md11060-c97cfc3a","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Called the 2017 Directions","plain_english":"This rulebook is called the MSME Sector lending Directions, 2017.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 1.1","rbi_char_offset":3319,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["msme-loan"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p31","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md11060-6aaec529","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Effective from website posting","plain_english":"The rule started on the day RBI first put it on its website.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 1.1","rbi_char_offset":3460,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p32","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md11060-174f5c97","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Framework limit 25 crore","plain_english":"This revival Framework covers MSME units with loan limits up to 25 crore rupees.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.6","rbi_char_offset":12707,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Risk","team":null,"products_covered":["msme-loan"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p33","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":4,"claim":"md11060-ba7090fc","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"60% makes it MSME","plain_english":"A branch with 60 per cent or more MSME advances may be labelled a specialised MSME branch.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5.1","rbi_char_offset":15978,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":["msme-loan"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p34","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":5,"claim":"md11060-400cfd6a","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Empowered Committee at each region","plain_english":"RBI's Regional Directors chair Empowered Committees on MSMEs at each Regional Office.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5.2","rbi_char_offset":17004,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":["msme-loan"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p35","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":6,"claim":"md11060-cc0f0b38","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Keep following the BCSBI code","plain_english":"Banks should keep following the Code of Commitment to MSEs even as BCSBI dissolves.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5.3","rbi_char_offset":18886,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["msme-loan"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11060#p36","layer":"bankpulse"}],"actions":[],"amendments":[{"id":"nt13290","title":"Lending to Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises (MSME) Sector (Amendment) Directions, 2026","date":"Feb 09, 2026","rbi_url":"https://rbi.org.in/Scripts/NotificationUser.aspx?Id=13290&Mode=0","order":1,"layer":"rbi_source"}],"layers":{"rbi_source":"Facts taken from RBI's own document.","bankpulse":"BankPulse's plain-English summary of RBI's document.","bankpulse_inference":"BankPulse's own inference, not stated by RBI."},"rbi_wording_not_included":"By design. BankPulse never republishes RBI's exact sentences. Use rbi_paragraph with rbi_source.url to read RBI's own words.","terms":"BankPulse's plain-English summaries are BankPulse's own work. The underlying regulation is the Reserve Bank of India's. Always check the RBI document named in rbi_source before acting."}