{"what_this_is":"The machine-readable twin of the BankPulse page for one RBI rulebook. Same points, same dates, same paragraph references as the page a person reads. RBI's own wording is not reproduced here: each point names the RBI paragraph, the character offset into the text BankPulse read and the sha256 of that text, so the claim can be checked against RBI's own document.","schema_version":1,"release_id":"d653cdb0a5","generated_at":"2026-09-15T00:33:59.117975+00:00","id":"md11510","title":"Master Direction  - External Commercial Borrowings, Trade Credits and Structured Obligations (Updated as on February 16, 2026)","document_kind":"Master Direction","page":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510","status":"In force","importance":{"code":"FYI","label":"FOR INFORMATION","weight":"For information","why":"General RBI update: no desk rule matched — read the source if it touches your work","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"applies_to":{"shown":"All regulated entities","class_code":"ALL","from":"the document's own title","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"dates":{"prid":"md11510","mode":"four_dates_v1","published":{"label":"Published","value":"Mar 26, 2019","stated":true,"why":"The day RBI put this document out."},"effective":{"label":"Starts to apply","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Not stated separately in this document. Read the rule itself before you assume a start date."},"transition":{"label":"Time to get ready","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Cannot be worked out until the day it starts to apply is known."},"deadline":{"label":"Last date to act","value":"","stated":false,"why":"No date to act by was found in this document. Other dates may sit inside single paragraphs."},"sources":{"published":"doc_date in data/highlights/md11510.json","effective":"none held","transition":"none held","deadline":"none held"}},"rbi_source":{"url":"https://rbi.org.in/Scripts/BS_ViewMasDirections.aspx?id=11510","document_date":"Mar 26, 2019","read_by_bankpulse":"2026-08-21 16:22:04 UTC","text_sha256":"0753f00f30bfd6cbe0cd3308c882c9a7517e54ebdb9be5894832241ab8206808","word_count":9903,"standing_last_checked":"Standing checked on RBI’s Master Directions index, 15 September 2026, 5:58 am IST."},"counts":{"points_shown":28,"points_naming_an_rbi_paragraph":28,"points_stored":28,"actions":0,"amendments":0},"points":[{"n":1,"claim":"md11510-b1018076","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Higher limit for some sectors","plain_english":"Oil, gas, airline and shipping firms can raise up to USD 150 million per import.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 14","rbi_char_offset":8233,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p1","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md11510-c771908c","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Standard limit is $50 million","plain_english":"Other importers can raise up to USD 50 million for each import.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 14","rbi_char_offset":8358,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p2","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md11510-50da3f6a","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Who can give suppliers credit","plain_english":"In suppliers' credit, the lender is the overseas supplier itself.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 14","rbi_char_offset":8454,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p3","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":4,"claim":"md11510-dc85aab0","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Who can give buyers credit","plain_english":"In buyers' credit, the lender can be a bank, financial institution or foreign equity holder abroad.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 14","rbi_char_offset":8521,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p4","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":5,"claim":"md11510-b06aeea2","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Three years for capital goods","plain_english":"Trade credit for capital goods can run up to three years from the shipment date.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 14","rbi_char_offset":9015,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p5","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":6,"claim":"md11510-15e97ee1","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"One year for other goods","plain_english":"For non-capital goods, the period is one year or the operating cycle, if shorter.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 14","rbi_char_offset":9125,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p6","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":7,"claim":"md11510-7377ebf5","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Shipyards also get three years","plain_english":"Shipyards and shipbuilders get up to three years even for non-capital goods.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 14","rbi_char_offset":9226,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p7","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":8,"claim":"md11510-f61cc135","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Hedging needs a board policy","plain_english":"An importer hedging its trade credit needs a board approved risk policy.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 14","rbi_char_offset":10152,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p8","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":9,"claim":"md11510-80314280","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Rupee credit cannot turn foreign","plain_english":"A rupee trade credit cannot later be changed into a foreign currency.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 14","rbi_char_offset":10733,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p9","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":10,"claim":"md11510-ed268bb0","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"SEZ units can raise credit","plain_english":"A unit or developer in an SEZ can raise trade credit for goods bought within or from another SEZ.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 15","rbi_char_offset":10863,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p10","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":11,"claim":"md11510-23a7f800","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"DTA buyers may use it","plain_english":"A buyer outside the SEZ may also raise trade credit to buy from an SEZ unit.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 15","rbi_char_offset":11110,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p11","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":12,"claim":"md11510-99b33bde","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Guarantee capped at the credit","plain_english":"A guarantee for the trade credit cannot be more than the credit itself.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 16","rbi_char_offset":11787,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p12","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":13,"claim":"md11510-cbb508d5","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Guarantee period matches the credit","plain_english":"The guarantee cannot last longer than the trade credit's own permitted period.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 16","rbi_char_offset":11922,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p13","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":14,"claim":"md11510-740e021e","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Assets or guarantee as security","plain_english":"The importer may offer movable or immovable assets, or a guarantee, as security.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 16","rbi_char_offset":12492,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":["trade-finance"],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p14","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":15,"claim":"md11510-9434a631","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"No objection needed from lenders","plain_english":"Where needed, a no objection certificate from existing lenders in India is required.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 16","rbi_char_offset":13051,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p15","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":16,"claim":"md11510-c5e8197b","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Invocation cannot exceed the dues","plain_english":"If invoked, total payments cannot exceed the amount owed on the trade credit.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 16","rbi_char_offset":13203,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p16","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":17,"claim":"md11510-8d8c6a60","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"180 days must be reported","plain_english":"Supplier credit beyond 180 days must also be reported by the bank.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 17","rbi_char_offset":14859,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p17","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":18,"claim":"md11510-b1cec4cc","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"ADs must check double financing","plain_english":"ADs must check that SEZ trade credit is not double financed.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 18","rbi_char_offset":15892,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p18","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md11510-2b81ae6d","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Monthly TC report to RBI","plain_english":"AD Category I banks must give RBI monthly details of TC drawal, use and repayment.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 17","rbi_char_offset":14169,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p19","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md11510-aa5a97c1","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Monthly report due the 10th","plain_english":"The monthly trade credit report must reach RBI by the 10th of the next month.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 17","rbi_char_offset":14548,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p20","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md11510-11dd457e","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"ADs enforce the shorter period","plain_english":"ADs must ensure the non-capital goods period stays at one year, or three years for shipyards.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 18","rbi_char_offset":16146,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p21","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md11510-0dd85fa5","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"What a trade credit is","plain_english":"Trade Credits are credit given by an overseas supplier, bank or approved lender for importing goods.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 13","rbi_char_offset":7388,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p22","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md11510-7a2525a1","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Two forms of trade credit","plain_english":"Trade credit comes as either suppliers' credit or buyers' credit.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 13","rbi_char_offset":7725,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p23","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md11510-f1bf68fc","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"IMPACT","heading":"SEZ credit has its date","plain_english":"For an SEZ trade credit, the date the goods change ownership counts as the TC date.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 15","rbi_char_offset":11432,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p24","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":4,"claim":"md11510-119f41f5","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"IMPACT","heading":"No import bill inside SEZ","plain_english":"Inside an SEZ, the NSDL inter-unit receipt can stand in for the import bill.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 15","rbi_char_offset":11603,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p25","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":5,"claim":"md11510-8d1e944a","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Foreign banks may guarantee too","plain_english":"Trade credit can also be secured by a foreign bank's guarantee or an Indian bank's overseas branch.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 16","rbi_char_offset":12003,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["trade-finance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p26","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":6,"claim":"md11510-08948b51","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Guarantee rule waits on FEMA","plain_english":"The rule on corporate or personal guarantees starts only when RBI publishes the linked FEMA regulation.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 16","rbi_char_offset":13830,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p27","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":7,"claim":"md11510-c9defde3","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"ADs may accept any document","plain_english":"RBI sets no fixed format for TC papers, so ADs may accept any document.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 18","rbi_char_offset":15679,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md11510#p28","layer":"bankpulse"}],"actions":[],"amendments":[],"layers":{"rbi_source":"Facts taken from RBI's own document.","bankpulse":"BankPulse's plain-English summary of RBI's document.","bankpulse_inference":"BankPulse's own inference, not stated by RBI."},"rbi_wording_not_included":"By design. BankPulse never republishes RBI's exact sentences. Use rbi_paragraph with rbi_source.url to read RBI's own words.","terms":"BankPulse's plain-English summaries are BankPulse's own work. The underlying regulation is the Reserve Bank of India's. Always check the RBI document named in rbi_source before acting."}