{"what_this_is":"The machine-readable twin of the BankPulse page for one RBI rulebook. Same points, same dates, same paragraph references as the page a person reads. RBI's own wording is not reproduced here: each point names the RBI paragraph, the character offset into the text BankPulse read and the sha256 of that text, so the claim can be checked against RBI's own document.","schema_version":1,"release_id":"d653cdb0a5","generated_at":"2026-09-15T00:33:59.117975+00:00","id":"md12156","title":"Master Directions on Prepaid Payment Instruments (PPIs) (Updated as on December 27, 2024)","document_kind":"Master Direction","page":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156","status":"In force","importance":{"code":"MR","label":"MUST READ","weight":"Must read","why":"Binding instrument, class not named: applies broadly","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"applies_to":{"shown":"All regulated entities","class_code":"ALL","from":"the document's own title","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"dates":{"prid":"md12156","mode":"four_dates_v1","published":{"label":"Published","value":"Aug 27, 2021","stated":true,"why":"The day RBI put this document out."},"effective":{"label":"Starts to apply","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Not stated separately in this document. Read the rule itself before you assume a start date."},"transition":{"label":"Time to get ready","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Cannot be worked out until the day it starts to apply is known."},"deadline":{"label":"Last date to act","value":"October 31, 2021","stated":true,"why":"The day by which the work this rule asks for must be finished."},"sources":{"published":"doc_date in data/highlights/md12156.json","effective":"none held","transition":"none held","deadline":"data/date_kinds.json kind=reporting_deadline"}},"rbi_source":{"url":"https://rbi.org.in/Scripts/BS_ViewMasDirections.aspx?id=12156","document_date":"Aug 27, 2021","read_by_bankpulse":"2026-08-21 16:28:32 UTC","text_sha256":"a03fa25f7ee8b598753fcaf2696fe944d51054bbb5220254048ad1ae4d162a4a","word_count":13027,"standing_last_checked":"Standing checked on RBI’s Master Directions index, 15 September 2026, 5:58 am IST."},"counts":{"points_shown":42,"points_naming_an_rbi_paragraph":42,"points_stored":42,"actions":0,"amendments":0},"points":[{"n":1,"claim":"md12156-55a3bd16","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"No PPI without approval","plain_english":"No entity may set up or run a PPI payment system without RBI's prior approval or authorisation.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 1.7","rbi_char_offset":4650,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p1","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md12156-6f3767be","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Bank issuance needs approval","plain_english":"A bank may issue PPIs only after RBI approves it, on top of other RBI eligibility rules.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3.1","rbi_char_offset":8053,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p2","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md12156-42b64f3a","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Non-bank issuance needs authorisation","plain_english":"A non-bank entity needs RBI's authorisation, not mere approval, before it may issue PPIs.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.1","rbi_char_offset":8608,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p3","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":4,"claim":"md12156-c0ae7c33","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Rs.5 crore net-worth to apply","plain_english":"A non-bank applicant for PPI authorisation needs a minimum positive net-worth of Rs.5 crore.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.5","rbi_char_offset":9615,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p4","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":5,"claim":"md12156-469af99b","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Rs.15 crore net-worth deadline","plain_english":"By the end of the third financial year after authorisation, net-worth must reach Rs.15 crore.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4.5","rbi_char_offset":10151,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p5","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":6,"claim":"md12156-61de13a6","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"In-principle approval lasts six months","plain_english":"RBI's in-principle approval for a PPI applicant stays valid for six months.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5.4","rbi_char_offset":13263,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p6","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":7,"claim":"md12156-ba8b374e","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Six months to start business","plain_english":"A finally authorised entity must start its PPI business within six months, or the authorisation lapses.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5.6","rbi_char_offset":14365,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p7","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":8,"claim":"md12156-deef8ba4","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"PMLA applies to PPI issuers","plain_english":"The Prevention of Money Laundering Act and its rules apply in full to every PPI issuer.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 6.2","rbi_char_offset":17343,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p8","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":9,"claim":"md12156-5daa6cf4","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Cash loading capped monthly","plain_english":"Cash loaded into any PPI is capped at Rs.50,000 per month, within the PPI's overall limit.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 7.6","rbi_char_offset":18900,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p9","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":10,"claim":"md12156-0ebd2c4a","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Cross-border outward transaction caps","plain_english":"Cross-border outward PPI payments are capped at Rs.10,000 per transaction and Rs.50,000 per month.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 8.1","rbi_char_offset":23859,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p10","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":11,"claim":"md12156-340afc6a","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Cross-border inward remittance cap","plain_english":"Only up to Rs.50,000 from an individual inward MTSS remittance may be loaded into a full-KYC PPI.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 8.2","rbi_char_offset":24718,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment","foreign-exchange"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p11","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":12,"claim":"md12156-d5583d61","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Small PPI loading caps","plain_english":"A small cash-loading PPI may take at most Rs.10,000 a month and Rs.1,20,000 in a financial year.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 9.1","rbi_char_offset":25987,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p12","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":13,"claim":"md12156-edf7fb18","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Small PPI outstanding cap","plain_english":"A small cash-loading PPI may never hold more than Rs.10,000 outstanding at any time.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 9.1","rbi_char_offset":26146,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p13","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":14,"claim":"md12156-3f2b963f","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"No cash-out or transfer","plain_english":"A small PPI is only for buying goods and services; cash withdrawal and funds transfer are barred.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 9.1","rbi_char_offset":26311,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p14","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":15,"claim":"md12156-f1cf7eae","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"24 months to upgrade","plain_english":"A small PPI must be upgraded to full-KYC within 24 months of issue, or lose further credit.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 9.1","rbi_char_offset":26607,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p15","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":16,"claim":"md12156-794e1b62","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Full-KYC PPI outstanding cap","plain_english":"A full-KYC PPI may never hold more than Rs.2,00,000 outstanding at any time.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 9.2","rbi_char_offset":29567,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p16","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":17,"claim":"md12156-b19a4366","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Pre-registered beneficiary transfer cap","plain_english":"Funds sent to a pre-registered beneficiary from a full-KYC PPI are capped at Rs.2,00,000 a month.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 9.2","rbi_char_offset":30196,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p17","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":18,"claim":"md12156-bab76619","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Other beneficiary transfer cap","plain_english":"Transfers to any other beneficiary from a full-KYC PPI are capped at Rs.10,000 a month.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 9.2","rbi_char_offset":30457,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p18","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":19,"claim":"md12156-f9302dff","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Bank PPI cash withdrawal cap","plain_english":"A bank's full-KYC PPI allows PoS cash withdrawal up to Rs.2,000 per transaction and Rs.10,000 a month.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 9.2","rbi_char_offset":31557,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p19","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":20,"claim":"md12156-af55afaa","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Non-bank PPI cash withdrawal cap","plain_english":"A non-bank's full-KYC PPI also allows cash withdrawal up to Rs.2,000 per transaction and Rs.10,000 a month.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 9.2","rbi_char_offset":31848,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p20","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":21,"claim":"md12156-03615074","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Gift PPI value cap","plain_english":"A gift PPI may never be loaded with more than Rs.10,000.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 10.1","rbi_char_offset":32419,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p21","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":22,"claim":"md12156-85e882c8","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Transit PPI skips KYC","plain_english":"A mass-transit PPI can be issued without KYC verification of the holder.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 10.2","rbi_char_offset":33957,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p22","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":23,"claim":"md12156-02ebc8b2","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Transit PPI outstanding cap","plain_english":"A mass-transit PPI may never hold more than Rs.3,000 outstanding at any time.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 10.2","rbi_char_offset":34062,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p23","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":24,"claim":"md12156-4ddcabeb","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Transit PPI has perpetual validity","plain_english":"A mass-transit PPI has perpetual validity; the usual validity and redemption rules do not apply.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 10.2","rbi_char_offset":34149,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p24","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":25,"claim":"md12156-533d7687","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Transit PPI bars cash-out","plain_english":"Cash withdrawal, refund and funds transfer are all barred on a mass-transit PPI.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 10.2","rbi_char_offset":34300,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p25","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":26,"claim":"md12156-c9ca091a","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"PPIs for visiting foreigners","plain_english":"A bank or non-bank may issue INR full-KYC PPIs to foreign nationals and NRIs visiting India.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 10.3","rbi_char_offset":34455,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p26","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":27,"claim":"md12156-d9d808c8","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Transit, gift PPIs exempt","plain_english":"A mass-transit PPI is exempt from interoperability; a gift PPI issuer may offer it optionally.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 11.4.3","rbi_char_offset":36732,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p27","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":28,"claim":"md12156-d0918cb8","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Full-KYC interoperability is mandatory","plain_english":"Interoperability through card networks or UPI is mandatory for every full-KYC PPI holder.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 11.4.4","rbi_char_offset":36990,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p28","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":29,"claim":"md12156-59d9a682","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Escrow can't dip below dues","plain_english":"The escrow balance may never fall, at day's end, below outstanding PPI value plus merchant dues.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 12.3(ii)","rbi_char_offset":42243,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p29","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":30,"claim":"md12156-c5a5d1af","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"One-year minimum PPI validity","plain_english":"Every PPI carries a minimum validity of one year from its last loading or reloading.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 13.1","rbi_char_offset":49918,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p30","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":31,"claim":"md12156-5a1bd0c5","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Three-year hold before P&L","plain_english":"A non-bank issuer may not move an expired PPI's balance to Profit & Loss for three years.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 13.3","rbi_char_offset":50566,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p31","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":32,"claim":"md12156-3a52ce63","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Ombudsman covers PPI complaints","plain_english":"PPI customers of banks and non-banks can use RBI's Integrated Ombudsman Scheme for grievance redressal.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 16.5","rbi_char_offset":61862,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p32","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":33,"claim":"md12156-6c1f7929","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Zero liability for issuer fault","plain_english":"A customer's liability is zero when the non-bank PPI issuer's own fraud or negligence caused the loss.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 17.5","rbi_char_offset":67467,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p33","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md12156-0bdd8657","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Ten-year transaction log","plain_english":"A PPI issuer must keep a log of every PPI transaction for at least ten years.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 6.3","rbi_char_offset":17503,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p34","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md12156-ddd143c3","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Co-branding needs RBI approval","plain_english":"A non-bank PPI issuer needs RBI's one-time approval before it may issue co-branded PPIs.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 7.11","rbi_char_offset":22217,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p35","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md12156-e38ccb3b","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Non-bank issuers need escrow","plain_english":"A non-bank PPI issuer must keep its outstanding balance in an escrow account at a scheduled commercial bank.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 12.3","rbi_char_offset":41301,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p36","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":4,"claim":"md12156-4c741e97","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"45-day expiry warning","plain_english":"A PPI issuer must caution the holder at intervals during the 45 days before expiry.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 13.2","rbi_char_offset":50265,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p37","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":5,"claim":"md12156-9311be10","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"One year idle, then inactive","plain_english":"A PPI unused for one full year is made inactive after a notice to the holder.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 13.6","rbi_char_offset":51486,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Payments Ops","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p38","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":6,"claim":"md12156-0069c966","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"48 hours, then 30 days","plain_english":"A PPI issuer should resolve a complaint within 48 hours, and always within 30 days.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 16.2","rbi_char_offset":60757,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p39","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":7,"claim":"md12156-5737fec7","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"10 days to reverse funds","plain_english":"The non-bank PPI issuer must shadow-reverse an unauthorised transaction to the customer's PPI within 10 days of notice.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 17.7","rbi_char_offset":69175,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p40","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":8,"claim":"md12156-73692a61","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"90 days to resolve liability","plain_english":"A non-bank PPI issuer must resolve a complaint and fix any customer liability within 90 days.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 17.8","rbi_char_offset":69796,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p41","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md12156-5a6b25b8","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Who this MD covers","plain_english":"This Master Direction applies to every entity that issues or operates Prepaid Payment Instruments.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 1.3","rbi_char_offset":3558,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":["digital-payment"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12156#p42","layer":"bankpulse"}],"actions":[],"amendments":[],"layers":{"rbi_source":"Facts taken from RBI's own document.","bankpulse":"BankPulse's plain-English summary of RBI's document.","bankpulse_inference":"BankPulse's own inference, not stated by RBI."},"rbi_wording_not_included":"By design. BankPulse never republishes RBI's exact sentences. Use rbi_paragraph with rbi_source.url to read RBI's own words.","terms":"BankPulse's plain-English summaries are BankPulse's own work. The underlying regulation is the Reserve Bank of India's. Always check the RBI document named in rbi_source before acting."}