{"what_this_is":"The machine-readable twin of the BankPulse page for one RBI rulebook. Same points, same dates, same paragraph references as the page a person reads. RBI's own wording is not reproduced here: each point names the RBI paragraph, the character offset into the text BankPulse read and the sha256 of that text, so the claim can be checked against RBI's own document.","schema_version":1,"release_id":"d653cdb0a5","generated_at":"2026-09-15T00:33:59.117975+00:00","id":"md12765","title":"Master Direction - Reserve Bank of India (Non-resident Investment in Debt Instruments) Directions, 2025 (Updated as on June 05, 2026)","document_kind":"Master Direction","page":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765","status":"In force","importance":{"code":"MR","label":"MUST READ","weight":"Must read","why":"Binding instrument, class not named: applies broadly","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"applies_to":{"shown":"All regulated entities","class_code":"ALL","from":"the document's own title","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"dates":{"prid":"md12765","mode":"four_dates_v1","published":{"label":"Published","value":"Jan 07, 2025","stated":true,"why":"The day RBI put this document out."},"effective":{"label":"Starts to apply","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Not stated separately in this document. Read the rule itself before you assume a start date."},"transition":{"label":"Time to get ready","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Cannot be worked out until the day it starts to apply is known."},"deadline":{"label":"Last date to act","value":"","stated":false,"why":"No date to act by was found in this document. Other dates may sit inside single paragraphs."},"sources":{"published":"doc_date in data/highlights/md12765.json","effective":"none held","transition":"none held","deadline":"none held"}},"rbi_source":{"url":"https://rbi.org.in/Scripts/BS_ViewMasDirections.aspx?id=12765","document_date":"Jan 07, 2025","read_by_bankpulse":"2026-08-21 16:27:46 UTC","text_sha256":"d456da4a141f4f9c0eeb22c141c0509293f936aac4f275bccb4f871a68d9dc2c","word_count":8152,"standing_last_checked":"Standing checked on RBI’s Master Directions index, 15 September 2026, 5:58 am IST."},"counts":{"points_shown":25,"points_naming_an_rbi_paragraph":25,"points_stored":25,"actions":0,"amendments":0},"points":[{"n":1,"claim":"md12765-99d149e7","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"6% limit, government bonds","plain_english":"Foreign investors may hold up to 6% of central government bonds under the general route.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4","rbi_char_offset":10518,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Treasury","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p1","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md12765-cc9853c5","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"2% limit, state bonds","plain_english":"State government bonds carry a separate 2% limit for foreign investors.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4","rbi_char_offset":10706,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Treasury","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p2","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md12765-e0aebcf8","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"15% limit, corporate bonds","plain_english":"Corporate bonds allow foreign investors up to 15% of the outstanding stock.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4","rbi_char_offset":10805,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Treasury","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p3","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":4,"claim":"md12765-71229352","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"One year minimum maturity","plain_english":"A foreign investor may buy corporate bonds only with more than one year left to run.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4","rbi_char_offset":13592,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p4","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":5,"claim":"md12765-91bb7e58","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"50% limit, one bond issue","plain_english":"One investor and its related investors may not hold more than half of any single bond issue.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4","rbi_char_offset":14109,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p5","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":6,"claim":"md12765-c2271afd","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE VRR ROUTE","heading":"Repos capped at 10%","plain_english":"Repo borrowing under this route may not exceed 10% of the investor's own holdings.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5","rbi_char_offset":17663,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Treasury","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p6","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":7,"claim":"md12765-69885b72","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE VRR ROUTE","heading":"50% cap per allotment round","plain_english":"One investor may not win more than half of any single allotment round.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5","rbi_char_offset":19392,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Treasury","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p7","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":8,"claim":"md12765-2ab14da6","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE VRR ROUTE","heading":"Three year retention period","plain_english":"The shortest commitment period under this route is three years.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5","rbi_char_offset":19658,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Treasury","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p8","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":9,"claim":"md12765-ef987378","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE VRR ROUTE","heading":"75% invested within three months","plain_english":"A VRR investor must put in at least 75% of its committed money within three months.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5","rbi_char_offset":20224,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p9","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":10,"claim":"md12765-b997d401","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE VRR ROUTE","heading":"Stay at 75% throughout","plain_english":"The investor must stay at 75% invested for the whole commitment period.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5","rbi_char_offset":20327,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p10","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":11,"claim":"md12765-d4cba1e8","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE VRR ROUTE","heading":"Custodian blocks early withdrawal","plain_english":"The custodian blocks a withdrawal that would drop holdings below the 75% minimum.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5","rbi_char_offset":20730,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p11","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":12,"claim":"md12765-dc465f8a","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE VRR ROUTE","heading":"FPI may exit route early","plain_english":"An FPI may exit the VRR early by selling its holdings to another FPI.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5","rbi_char_offset":21877,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Treasury","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p12","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":13,"claim":"md12765-9c08ea37","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"FPIs, NRIs and OCIs eligible","plain_english":"Foreign portfolio investors, non-resident Indians and overseas citizens of India can use this route.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 6","rbi_char_offset":23138,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p13","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":14,"claim":"md12765-90340096","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"SPECIAL ROUTES","heading":"Vostro route, eligible instruments","plain_english":"Rupee-surplus vostro accounts may buy government bonds and select company debt.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 7A","rbi_char_offset":24974,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Treasury","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p14","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":15,"claim":"md12765-79ed02af","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"SPECIAL ROUTES","heading":"NRIs face no investment limit","plain_english":"Non-resident Indians investing in debt instruments face no limit under these rules.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 7B","rbi_char_offset":29005,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p15","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":16,"claim":"md12765-eb154951","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"REPORTING AND RULES","heading":"Bank may lend for margin","plain_english":"The bank may lend an investor money to place margin with the clearing corporation.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 9","rbi_char_offset":30330,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Treasury","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p16","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":17,"claim":"md12765-fbe83d0d","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"REPORTING AND RULES","heading":"Trades settle T+1 or T+2","plain_english":"Government bond trades settle on a T+1 or T+2 basis.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 9","rbi_char_offset":31539,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Operations","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p17","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":18,"claim":"md12765-2e506fd9","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Investments counted at face value","plain_english":"Investments are counted at their face value.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 10","rbi_char_offset":31761,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Treasury","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p18","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":19,"claim":"md12765-77a6369b","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"REPORTING AND RULES","heading":"RBI may demand information","plain_english":"RBI may ask any investor or custodian for information it needs.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 11","rbi_char_offset":32575,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p19","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":20,"claim":"md12765-02c91ddc","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"REPORTING AND RULES","heading":"RBI may publish anonymised data","plain_english":"RBI may publish data on non-resident trades, with no names attached.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 12","rbi_char_offset":33037,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p20","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":21,"claim":"md12765-39574702","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"REPORTING AND RULES","heading":"Breaches must be reversed","plain_english":"A trade that breaks the investment limit is not accepted, and must be undone.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 13","rbi_char_offset":33232,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p21","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":22,"claim":"md12765-0807fd2f","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"REPORTING AND RULES","heading":"FEMA rules still apply","plain_english":"FEMA's other rules still apply on top of these Directions.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 14","rbi_char_offset":33918,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p22","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md12765-e0d9dc9c","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"THE VRR ROUTE","heading":"Separate rupee account needed","plain_english":"The investor must open a separate rupee account for this route's money.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5","rbi_char_offset":22471,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Operations","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p23","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md12765-424d2150","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"REPORTING AND RULES","heading":"Trades reported within three hours","plain_english":"Off-market government bond trades must be reported within three hours of trading close.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 9","rbi_char_offset":30589,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Operations","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p24","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md12765-8113bbe1","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"REPORTING AND RULES","heading":"Minor slip, five day fix","plain_english":"A small, unintended violation can be fixed within five working days, with the custodian's approval.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 13","rbi_char_offset":33523,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12765#p25","layer":"bankpulse"}],"actions":[],"amendments":[],"layers":{"rbi_source":"Facts taken from RBI's own document.","bankpulse":"BankPulse's plain-English summary of RBI's document.","bankpulse_inference":"BankPulse's own inference, not stated by RBI."},"rbi_wording_not_included":"By design. BankPulse never republishes RBI's exact sentences. Use rbi_paragraph with rbi_source.url to read RBI's own words.","terms":"BankPulse's plain-English summaries are BankPulse's own work. The underlying regulation is the Reserve Bank of India's. Always check the RBI document named in rbi_source before acting."}