{"what_this_is":"The machine-readable twin of the BankPulse page for one RBI rulebook. Same points, same dates, same paragraph references as the page a person reads. RBI's own wording is not reproduced here: each point names the RBI paragraph, the character offset into the text BankPulse read and the sha256 of that text, so the claim can be checked against RBI's own document.","schema_version":1,"release_id":"d653cdb0a5","generated_at":"2026-09-15T00:33:59.117975+00:00","id":"md12926","title":"Reserve Bank of India (Credit Information Companies) Directions, 2025 (Updated as on July 01, 2026)","document_kind":"Directions","page":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926","status":"In force","importance":{"code":"MR","label":"MUST READ","weight":"Must read","why":"Binding RBI Directions naming this institution class in the title","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"applies_to":{"shown":"Credit information companies","class_code":"CIC","from":"the document's own title","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"dates":{"prid":"md12926","mode":"four_dates_v1","published":{"label":"Published","value":"Nov 28, 2025","stated":true,"why":"The day RBI put this document out."},"effective":{"label":"Starts to apply","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Not stated separately in this document. Read the rule itself before you assume a start date."},"transition":{"label":"Time to get ready","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Cannot be worked out until the day it starts to apply is known."},"deadline":{"label":"Last date to act","value":"","stated":false,"why":"No date to act by was found in this document. Other dates may sit inside single paragraphs."},"sources":{"published":"doc_date in data/highlights/md12926.json","effective":"none held","transition":"none held","deadline":"none held"}},"rbi_source":{"url":"https://rbi.org.in/Scripts/BS_ViewMasDirections.aspx?id=12926","document_date":"Nov 28, 2025","read_by_bankpulse":"2026-08-21 16:21:56 UTC","text_sha256":"14b845ba043849d249ce8d49bde551e272de7f08d620d0256a108a4aa56b82f1","word_count":10951,"standing_last_checked":"Standing checked on RBI’s Master Directions index, 15 September 2026, 5:58 am IST."},"counts":{"points_shown":54,"points_naming_an_rbi_paragraph":54,"points_stored":54,"actions":0,"amendments":1},"points":[{"n":1,"claim":"md12926-6ad5c9a7","page_group":"Chapter I. Preliminary","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Who this rulebook covers","plain_english":"These Directions apply only to India's four Credit Information Companies, or CICs.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3","rbi_char_offset":3423,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p1","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md12926-2ccb4ab8","page_group":"Chapter I. Preliminary","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Lenders count as CIs","plain_english":"Credit institutions include commercial banks, co-operative banks, NABARD, SIDBI and most NBFCs.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4","rbi_char_offset":5068,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":["housing-loan"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p2","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md12926-12885481","page_group":"Chapter II. Role of the Board","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Board reviews match logic yearly","plain_english":"The board must check the matching algorithm at least once every half year.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 7","rbi_char_offset":6470,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p3","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md12926-45c28a0b","page_group":"Chapter II. Role of the Board","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Board reviews partner audits","plain_english":"The board must review information-security audit reports of the bureau's data-sharing partners.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 8","rbi_char_offset":7053,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p4","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md12926-6574f6f0","page_group":"Chapter II. Role of the Board","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Board reviews complaints quarterly","plain_english":"The board must look at complaint numbers on a quarterly basis.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 8","rbi_char_offset":7340,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p5","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md12926-ed5cf322","page_group":"Chapter IV. Investment in CICs","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Investment capped at 10%","plain_english":"Nobody may hold more than 10% of a CIC's equity, directly or indirectly.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 13","rbi_char_offset":8453,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p6","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md12926-218dd9c9","page_group":"Chapter IV. Investment in CICs","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Track record lifts FDI cap","plain_english":"A proven investor may hold 49% if ownership isn't diversified, 100% if it is.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 13","rbi_char_offset":8842,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p7","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md12926-331b1672","page_group":"Chapter IV. Investment in CICs","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"FPI stake stays under 10%","plain_english":"A single foreign portfolio investor may hold below 10% equity in a CIC.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 13","rbi_char_offset":9535,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p8","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":4,"claim":"md12926-61e1023d","page_group":"Chapter IV. Investment in CICs","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"1% stake must be reported","plain_english":"Any FPI buying more than 1% of a CIC must report it to RBI.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 13","rbi_char_offset":9616,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p9","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md12926-88feff7a","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Membership fee capped at Rs.10,000","plain_english":"A credit bureau may charge a new member at most Rs.10,000, one time only.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 14","rbi_char_offset":10394,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p10","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md12926-56a1835c","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Annual fee capped at Rs.5,000","plain_english":"Yearly membership fees a credit bureau charges its members may not exceed Rs.5,000.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 14","rbi_char_offset":10503,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p11","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md12926-923bfd2f","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Net worth: Rs.2 crore","plain_english":"A company applying to become a member needs a net worth of at least Rs.2 crore.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 14","rbi_char_offset":11913,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p12","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":4,"claim":"md12926-01bb9203","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Ownership caps: 26% and 10%","plain_english":"A well-diversified applicant limits its promoter group to 26% and any other holder to 10%.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 14","rbi_char_offset":13277,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p13","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":5,"claim":"md12926-fe62ff78","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Member data stays inside India","plain_english":"A member must process and store the credit data only within India.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 14","rbi_char_offset":15832,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p14","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":6,"claim":"md12926-133b6353","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Member storage: 6-month cap","plain_english":"A member's own stored credit data must be deleted after six months.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 14","rbi_char_offset":15901,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p15","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":7,"claim":"md12926-251d6d09","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"SHG threshold: Rs.1 lakh","plain_english":"Individual SHG-member data is collected only once a group's own loan tops Rs.1,00,000.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 17","rbi_char_offset":24971,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Credit","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p16","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":8,"claim":"md12926-579978a2","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"One report per borrower","plain_english":"The credit bureau issues a single report per borrower, even with more than one address.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 21","rbi_char_offset":31583,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Credit","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p17","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":9,"claim":"md12926-5ee77d98","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Rejections stay off record","plain_english":"The credit bureau never reports a loan application that was declined before.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 21","rbi_char_offset":32916,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Credit","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p18","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":10,"claim":"md12926-c626aaf8","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Score runs 300 to 900","plain_english":"Credit scores are calibrated on one common scale, from 300 to 900.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 21","rbi_char_offset":33699,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Credit","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p19","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":11,"claim":"md12926-a8b212cf","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Free report, once a year","plain_english":"Every individual can get one free full credit report, with score, once a year.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 21","rbi_char_offset":33929,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p20","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":12,"claim":"md12926-e8d1aeb8","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Consent data: 6-month cap","plain_english":"Credit data a credit bureau shares on consent is stored for six months at most.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 24","rbi_char_offset":37291,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p21","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":13,"claim":"md12926-90bb2c22","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Shared data stays in India","plain_english":"Credit data the credit bureau shares with an outside entity stays inside India.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 24","rbi_char_offset":38767,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p22","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":14,"claim":"md12926-138f81e0","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Fix errors at the source","plain_english":"Every data error is corrected at the lender that first submitted it, not at the bureau.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 25","rbi_char_offset":40781,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p23","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":15,"claim":"md12926-2a27b341","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Ownership change: 30-day report","plain_english":"A member must report any change in its own ownership within 30 days.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 14","rbi_char_offset":13096,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p24","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":16,"claim":"md12926-2f45a274","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Members audit their own systems","plain_english":"A member must audit its own IT systems at least every half year.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 14","rbi_char_offset":15302,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Technology","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p25","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":17,"claim":"md12926-5d0874e4","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Four reporting dates a month","plain_english":"Lenders send credit data on the 9th, 16th, 23rd and the month's last day.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 15","rbi_char_offset":17103,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p26","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":18,"claim":"md12926-5aeafaec","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Full file due by 5th","plain_english":"Lenders must send the complete monthly file by the 5th of next month.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 15","rbi_char_offset":17251,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p27","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":19,"claim":"md12926-27e2a864","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Changes due within 4 days","plain_english":"Mid-month account changes must reach the credit bureau within four calendar days.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 15","rbi_char_offset":17779,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p28","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":20,"claim":"md12926-5b591f82","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Commercial paper reported fortnightly","plain_english":"Commercial paper details reach the credit bureau every fortnight.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 16","rbi_char_offset":20213,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p29","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":21,"claim":"md12926-7a64a973","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Currency exposure reported fortnightly","plain_english":"Unhedged foreign currency exposure data reaches the credit bureau every fortnight.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 16","rbi_char_offset":20938,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Credit","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p30","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":22,"claim":"md12926-b6925c04","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Relationship data mandatory since 2018","plain_english":"Relationship-segment reporting became mandatory for accounts opened on or after July 01, 2018.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 16","rbi_char_offset":21785,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p31","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":23,"claim":"md12926-72cc4418","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Bad-data checks run quarterly","plain_english":"The credit bureau must check its records for errors at least once a quarter.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 19","rbi_char_offset":28233,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Technology","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p32","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":24,"claim":"md12926-d3967639","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Correct data before resubmitting","plain_english":"A lender must fix rejected records before or alongside its next submission.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 19","rbi_char_offset":28991,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p33","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":25,"claim":"md12926-fc9f84b5","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"File score: 3-day deadline","plain_english":"Each file's own data-quality score reaches the lender within three calendar days.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 20","rbi_char_offset":29450,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Technology","team":null,"products_covered":["microfinance"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p34","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":26,"claim":"md12926-ac4882b5","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Lender score due by 10th","plain_english":"A lender's overall data-quality score arrives every month by the 10th.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 20","rbi_char_offset":29644,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Technology","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p35","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":27,"claim":"md12926-ac8beec8","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Partner IS audits run yearly","plain_english":"The credit bureau's data-sharing partners face an information-security audit every year.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 24","rbi_char_offset":39252,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Technology","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p36","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":28,"claim":"md12926-cb99e208","page_group":"Chapter V. Credit Information Reporting and Dissemination","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Six months buys free copy","plain_english":"A corrected report is free if it was issued within the last six months.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 25","rbi_char_offset":41549,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p37","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md12926-a706eaef","page_group":"Chapter VI. Technical Working Group","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"TWG meets at least yearly","plain_english":"RBI's Technical Working Group must meet at least once every calendar year.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 31","rbi_char_offset":43453,"weight":"DO IT","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p38","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md12926-75ff3a40","page_group":"Chapter VI. Technical Working Group","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Sub-group meets every half year","plain_english":"The Technical Working Group's own sub-group must meet at least every half year.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 35","rbi_char_offset":45004,"weight":"DO IT","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p39","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md12926-1eb789a5","page_group":"Chapter VI. Technical Working Group","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Agenda goes out 15 days","plain_english":"Meeting papers must reach members at least 15 days before the meeting.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 35","rbi_char_offset":45201,"weight":"DO IT","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p40","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":4,"claim":"md12926-98ba31fb","page_group":"Chapter VI. Technical Working Group","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Four bureaus share the chair","plain_english":"The four CICs take turns each year chairing RBI's Technical Working Group.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 29","rbi_char_offset":42820,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p41","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md12926-d29f43f0","page_group":"Chapter VII. Customer Service and Grievance Redressal","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Compensation runs Rs.100 a day","plain_english":"A delayed complaint earns the customer Rs.100 for every day beyond 30 days.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 41","rbi_char_offset":47636,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p42","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md12926-14bd2949","page_group":"Chapter VII. Customer Service and Grievance Redressal","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"21 plus 9 equals 30","plain_english":"Lenders get 21 days to answer; the credit bureau gets the remaining nine.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 41","rbi_char_offset":48675,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p43","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md12926-5cabad0e","page_group":"Chapter VII. Customer Service and Grievance Redressal","stored_section":"LIMITS AND NUMBERS","heading":"Payout lands within 5 days","plain_english":"Compensation must reach the customer's account within five working days of resolution.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 41","rbi_char_offset":59702,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p44","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":4,"claim":"md12926-50df0bbe","page_group":"Chapter VII. Customer Service and Grievance Redressal","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Wrongful denial? Use Ombudsman","plain_english":"A customer wrongly refused compensation can complain to RBI's own Ombudsman.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 41","rbi_char_offset":59848,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p45","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":5,"claim":"md12926-a1332efa","page_group":"Chapter VII. Customer Service and Grievance Redressal","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Some disputes go to arbitration","plain_english":"Disputes with no other remedy under CICRA go to conciliation or arbitration instead.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 41","rbi_char_offset":60344,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p46","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":6,"claim":"md12926-8ab60f49","page_group":"Chapter VII. Customer Service and Grievance Redressal","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Internal Ombudsman still required","plain_english":"A covered credit bureau must keep an Internal Ombudsman under RBI's own framework.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 43","rbi_char_offset":61453,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p47","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":7,"claim":"md12926-f9fb2698","page_group":"Chapter VII. Customer Service and Grievance Redressal","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Integrated Ombudsman Scheme applies too","plain_english":"A covered credit bureau must also follow RBI's Integrated Ombudsman Scheme, 2021.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 44","rbi_char_offset":61717,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p48","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":8,"claim":"md12926-6051214b","page_group":"Chapter VII. Customer Service and Grievance Redressal","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Alerts follow every CIR pull","plain_english":"Customers get an SMS or email alert whenever their report is checked.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 37","rbi_char_offset":46157,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p49","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":9,"claim":"md12926-1c868fa5","page_group":"Chapter VII. Customer Service and Grievance Redressal","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Root cause fixes match logic","plain_english":"Root-cause analysis of complaints must sharpen the credit bureau's own matching logic.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 38","rbi_char_offset":46727,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Technology","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p50","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":10,"claim":"md12926-5e7faec5","page_group":"Chapter VII. Customer Service and Grievance Redressal","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Rejections flagged within 3 days","plain_english":"The credit bureau must flag rejected records within three calendar days of receipt.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 39","rbi_char_offset":46984,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Technology","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p51","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":11,"claim":"md12926-23fccbc0","page_group":"Chapter VII. Customer Service and Grievance Redressal","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Complaint counts go online","plain_english":"The credit bureau must publish its own complaint numbers, and its members', online.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 40","rbi_char_offset":47279,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p52","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md12926-cbea4ba7","page_group":"Chapter VIII. Best Practices","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Multiple pulls trigger alerts","plain_english":"Lenders get an alert when more than one of them pulls the same report within a month.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 45","rbi_char_offset":62690,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Credit","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p53","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md12926-3319457f","page_group":"Chapter VIII. Best Practices","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"ISO 27001 is best practice","plain_english":"RBI expects every credit bureau to hold ISO 27001 certification for information security.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 45","rbi_char_offset":63486,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Technology","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12926#p54","layer":"bankpulse"}],"actions":[],"amendments":[{"id":"nt13189","title":"Reserve Bank of India (Credit Information Companies) Amendment Directions, 2025","date":"Dec 04, 2025","rbi_url":"https://rbi.org.in/Scripts/NotificationUser.aspx?Id=13189&Mode=0","order":1,"layer":"rbi_source"}],"layers":{"rbi_source":"Facts taken from RBI's own document.","bankpulse":"BankPulse's plain-English summary of RBI's document.","bankpulse_inference":"BankPulse's own inference, not stated by RBI."},"rbi_wording_not_included":"By design. BankPulse never republishes RBI's exact sentences. Use rbi_paragraph with rbi_source.url to read RBI's own words.","terms":"BankPulse's plain-English summaries are BankPulse's own work. The underlying regulation is the Reserve Bank of India's. Always check the RBI document named in rbi_source before acting."}