{"what_this_is":"The machine-readable twin of the BankPulse page for one RBI rulebook. Same points, same dates, same paragraph references as the page a person reads. RBI's own wording is not reproduced here: each point names the RBI paragraph, the character offset into the text BankPulse read and the sha256 of that text, so the claim can be checked against RBI's own document.","schema_version":1,"release_id":"d653cdb0a5","generated_at":"2026-09-15T00:33:59.117975+00:00","id":"md12962","title":"Reserve Bank of India (Non-Banking Financial Companies – Branch Authorisation) Directions, 2025 (Updated as on April 15, 2026)","document_kind":"Directions","page":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12962","status":"In force","importance":{"code":"MR","label":"MUST READ","weight":"Must read","why":"Binding RBI Directions naming this institution class in the title","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"applies_to":{"shown":"Finance companies","class_code":"NBFC","from":"the document's own title","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"dates":{"prid":"md12962","mode":"four_dates_v1","published":{"label":"Published","value":"Nov 28, 2025","stated":true,"why":"The day RBI put this document out."},"effective":{"label":"Starts to apply","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Not stated separately in this document. Read the rule itself before you assume a start date."},"transition":{"label":"Time to get ready","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Cannot be worked out until the day it starts to apply is known."},"deadline":{"label":"Last date to act","value":"","stated":false,"why":"No date to act by was found in this document. Other dates may sit inside single paragraphs."},"sources":{"published":"doc_date in data/highlights/md12962.json","effective":"none held","transition":"none held","deadline":"none held"}},"rbi_source":{"url":"https://rbi.org.in/Scripts/BS_ViewMasDirections.aspx?id=12962","document_date":"Nov 28, 2025","read_by_bankpulse":"2026-08-21 16:21:42 UTC","text_sha256":"098392025aa929d9976a5ac24dd7625df575600d399a8b0306f577fe2142e2a0","word_count":1956,"standing_last_checked":"Standing checked on RBI’s Master Directions index, 15 September 2026, 5:58 am IST."},"counts":{"points_shown":15,"points_naming_an_rbi_paragraph":15,"points_stored":15,"actions":0,"amendments":1},"points":[{"n":1,"claim":"md12962-1840df20","page_group":"Chapter I. Preliminary","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"In force at once","plain_english":"These directions came into force with immediate effect.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 2","rbi_char_offset":3104,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12962#p1","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md12962-ef7aaea7","page_group":"Chapter I. Preliminary","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Who is covered","plain_english":"These Directions apply to finance companies of all layers, with named paragraphs for each kind of company.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3(1)","rbi_char_offset":3192,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12962#p2","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md12962-b6fc1cb2","page_group":"Chapter I. Preliminary","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Some kinds excluded","plain_english":"Five kinds are out, from mortgage guarantee companies to peer to peer platforms and holding companies.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3(2)","rbi_char_offset":4459,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12962#p3","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md12962-7be0e347","page_group":"Chapter II. Branch Authorisation","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Small stays in state","plain_english":"With owned funds up to ₹ 50 crore, or a rating below AA, branches stay within its own state.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4","rbi_char_offset":6033,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":"A finance company has owned funds of 40 crore rupees. That is up to 50 crore, so it may open branches only within the state of its registered office. Above 50 crore with a rating of AA or better, it may open them anywhere in India.","anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12962#p4","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md12962-66fc9991","page_group":"Chapter II. Branch Authorisation","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Big goes national","plain_english":"With owned funds above ₹ 50 crore and a rating of AA or better, it may open branches anywhere in India.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4","rbi_char_offset":6207,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12962#p5","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md12962-02955693","page_group":"Chapter II. Branch Authorisation","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Both tests must pass","plain_english":"A company above ₹ 50 crore but rated below AA still stays within its own state.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4","rbi_char_offset":6362,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12962#p6","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":4,"claim":"md12962-6f23956b","page_group":"Chapter II. Branch Authorisation","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Three months of notice","plain_english":"Closing any branch needs at least three months public notice in a national paper and a local language paper.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 11","rbi_char_offset":7098,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12962#p7","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":5,"claim":"md12962-721df3ac","page_group":"Chapter II. Branch Authorisation","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"RBI told within a week","plain_english":"A deposit taking company sends the closure notice to RBI's office within seven days of printing it.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 12","rbi_char_offset":7510,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12962#p8","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":6,"claim":"md12962-e0c875f2","page_group":"Chapter II. Branch Authorisation","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Branches without asking","plain_english":"A finance company may generally open branches in India without RBI's prior approval.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4","rbi_char_offset":5641,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12962#p9","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":7,"claim":"md12962-31cd51c9","page_group":"Chapter II. Branch Authorisation","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"No new branches abroad","plain_english":"As a rule, no new branch may open abroad. Ones already set up may carry on under conditions.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4","rbi_char_offset":6650,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12962#p10","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":8,"claim":"md12962-84ce5c51","page_group":"Chapter II. Branch Authorisation","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Liaison offices need leave","plain_english":"A representative office abroad needs RBI's prior approval, sought through the PRAVAAH portal.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 12","rbi_char_offset":7724,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Technology","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12962#p11","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":9,"claim":"md12962-654e676e","page_group":"Chapter II. Branch Authorisation","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Liaison only, no lending","plain_english":"Such offices do liaison work and market study only; no activity that puts out funds, and no line of credit.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 14","rbi_char_offset":7988,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12962#p12","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":10,"claim":"md12962-9f0f2887","page_group":"Chapter II. Branch Authorisation","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Idle offices lose approval","plain_english":"The parent company takes regular reports. An office doing nothing, or not reporting, can lose its approval.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 14","rbi_char_offset":8501,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12962#p13","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md12962-a19a8c3b","page_group":"Chapter III. Repeal and other Provisions","stored_section":"WHAT IT REPLACES","heading":"Old guidance repealed","plain_english":"The old branch opening guidance for finance companies stands repealed.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 16","rbi_char_offset":8823,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12962#p14","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md12962-1079c38d","page_group":"Chapter III. Repeal and other Provisions","stored_section":"WHAT IT REPLACES","heading":"Old actions stay governed","plain_english":"Action already taken under the old rules stays governed by them.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 17","rbi_char_offset":9194,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12962#p15","layer":"bankpulse"}],"actions":[],"amendments":[{"id":"nt13370","title":"Reserve Bank of India (Non-Banking Financial Companies – Branch Authorisation) Amendment Directions, 2026","date":"Apr 15, 2026","rbi_url":"https://rbi.org.in/Scripts/NotificationUser.aspx?Id=13370&Mode=0","order":1,"layer":"rbi_source"}],"layers":{"rbi_source":"Facts taken from RBI's own document.","bankpulse":"BankPulse's plain-English summary of RBI's document.","bankpulse_inference":"BankPulse's own inference, not stated by RBI."},"rbi_wording_not_included":"By design. BankPulse never republishes RBI's exact sentences. Use rbi_paragraph with rbi_source.url to read RBI's own words.","terms":"BankPulse's plain-English summaries are BankPulse's own work. The underlying regulation is the Reserve Bank of India's. Always check the RBI document named in rbi_source before acting."}