{"what_this_is":"The machine-readable twin of the BankPulse page for one RBI rulebook. Same points, same dates, same paragraph references as the page a person reads. RBI's own wording is not reproduced here: each point names the RBI paragraph, the character offset into the text BankPulse read and the sha256 of that text, so the claim can be checked against RBI's own document.","schema_version":1,"release_id":"d653cdb0a5","generated_at":"2026-09-15T00:33:59.117975+00:00","id":"md12982","title":"Reserve Bank of India (All India Financial Institutions– Resource Raising Norms) Directions, 2025","document_kind":"Directions","page":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982","status":"In force","importance":{"code":"MR","label":"MUST READ","weight":"Must read","why":"Binding RBI Directions naming this institution class in the title","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"applies_to":{"shown":"All India financial institutions","class_code":"AIFI","from":"the document's own title","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"dates":{"prid":"md12982","mode":"four_dates_v1","published":{"label":"Published","value":"Nov 28, 2025","stated":true,"why":"The day RBI put this document out."},"effective":{"label":"Starts to apply","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Not stated separately in this document. Read the rule itself before you assume a start date."},"transition":{"label":"Time to get ready","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Cannot be worked out until the day it starts to apply is known."},"deadline":{"label":"Last date to act","value":"","stated":false,"why":"No date to act by was found in this document. Other dates may sit inside single paragraphs."},"sources":{"published":"doc_date in data/highlights/md12982.json","effective":"none held","transition":"none held","deadline":"none held"}},"rbi_source":{"url":"https://rbi.org.in/Scripts/BS_ViewMasDirections.aspx?id=12982","document_date":"Nov 28, 2025","read_by_bankpulse":"2026-08-21 16:20:39 UTC","text_sha256":"26713be4197dbfec33848b84b5ff779c158181972ca19b7ffd93d90479f3851c","word_count":2053,"standing_last_checked":"Standing checked on RBI’s Master Directions index, 15 September 2026, 5:58 am IST."},"counts":{"points_shown":26,"points_naming_an_rbi_paragraph":26,"points_stored":26,"actions":0,"amendments":0},"points":[{"n":1,"claim":"md12982-d0d306f3","page_group":"Chapter I. Preliminary","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Starts once posted online","plain_english":"The rules start the day RBI puts them on its own website.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 2","rbi_char_offset":2965,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p1","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md12982-1c6ebe05","page_group":"Chapter I. Preliminary","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Covers EXIM Bank and NABARD","plain_english":"These rules cover the RBI-regulated All India Financial Institutions, starting with EXIM Bank and NABARD.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3","rbi_char_offset":3138,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["agriculture-loan"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p2","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md12982-726caf23","page_group":"Chapter I. Preliminary","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Also covers NaBFID, NHB, SIDBI","plain_english":"The list also names NaBFID, the National Housing Bank and SIDBI.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3","rbi_char_offset":3331,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p3","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md12982-99d6aaed","page_group":"Chapter II. Resource Raising Norms","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"The umbrella limit continues","plain_english":"The Umbrella Limit itself still binds every AIFI, even though the old ceiling is gone.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4","rbi_char_offset":3953,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p4","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md12982-eef0884a","page_group":"Chapter II. Resource Raising Norms","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Borrowings capped at own funds","plain_english":"Total borrowings under the Umbrella Limit may never exceed 100 per cent of the AIFI's own funds.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5","rbi_char_offset":4023,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":"An AIFI's own funds are Rs 2,000 crore. Its Umbrella Limit borrowings may not cross Rs 2,000 crore, 100 per cent of that.","anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p5","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md12982-5f75e6e2","page_group":"Chapter II. Resource Raising Norms","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Four instruments make the limit","plain_english":"The Umbrella Limit is built from term deposits, term money, certificates of deposit and commercial paper.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 6","rbi_char_offset":4196,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["deposit-account"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p6","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":4,"claim":"md12982-90fb45c6","page_group":"Chapter II. Resource Raising Norms","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Brokerage limit, one per cent","plain_english":"Brokerage on a term deposit may never exceed one per cent of the amount taken in.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 7","rbi_char_offset":4821,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["deposit-account"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":"TDs raised in a quarter total Rs 50 crore. Brokerage on them may not cross Rs 50 lakh, one per cent of that.","anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p7","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":5,"claim":"md12982-cfb597a9","page_group":"Chapter II. Resource Raising Norms","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"TDs must carry a rating","plain_english":"Every term deposit must carry a rating from a SEBI-approved credit rating agency.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 10","rbi_char_offset":5825,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["deposit-account"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p8","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":6,"claim":"md12982-978c468a","page_group":"Chapter II. Resource Raising Norms","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"No loans against own deposits","plain_english":"An AIFI may not lend against its own term deposits without RBI's permission.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 11","rbi_char_offset":5917,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["deposit-account"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p9","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":7,"claim":"md12982-5a28798b","page_group":"Chapter II. Resource Raising Norms","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Term money, banks only","plain_english":"Term money may be borrowed only from scheduled commercial banks and co-operative banks.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 14","rbi_char_offset":6295,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p10","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":8,"claim":"md12982-e56c92a9","page_group":"Chapter II. Resource Raising Norms","stored_section":"IMPACT","heading":"Primary issuance reported by evening","plain_english":"Details of a new certificate of deposit must reach the trade repository by 5:30 PM that day.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 22","rbi_char_offset":8432,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p11","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":9,"claim":"md12982-19b3f033","page_group":"Chapter II. Resource Raising Norms","stored_section":"IMPACT","heading":"Reported within 15 minutes","plain_english":"A secondary market trade in a certificate of deposit must be reported within 15 minutes of execution.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 22","rbi_char_offset":8704,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p12","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":10,"claim":"md12982-a1d204e0","page_group":"Chapter II. Resource Raising Norms","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Bonds need no RBI approval","plain_english":"An AIFI may raise resources through bonds without needing RBI's prior approval.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 24","rbi_char_offset":9115,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p13","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":11,"claim":"md12982-ec420f2f","page_group":"Chapter II. Resource Raising Norms","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Bonds, no early exit","plain_english":"A bond may not carry any call, put or exit option before one year from issue.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 24","rbi_char_offset":9567,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p14","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":12,"claim":"md12982-6825661d","page_group":"Chapter II. Resource Raising Norms","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Deposits, one to five years","plain_english":"A term deposit must run for at least one year and no more than five years.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 7","rbi_char_offset":4612,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["deposit-account"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p15","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":13,"claim":"md12982-a2094b19","page_group":"Chapter II. Resource Raising Norms","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Minimum deposit, ten thousand","plain_english":"Each term deposit must be for at least ₹10,000.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 7","rbi_char_offset":4744,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["deposit-account"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p16","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":14,"claim":"md12982-3c7681ef","page_group":"Chapter II. Resource Raising Norms","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"No exit before a year","plain_english":"A term deposit may not be withdrawn early before it completes one year.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 8","rbi_char_offset":4906,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":["deposit-account"],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p17","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":15,"claim":"md12982-4670849d","page_group":"Chapter II. Resource Raising Norms","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Term money, three to six","plain_english":"Term money borrowing must run for at least three months and no more than six.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 12","rbi_char_offset":6063,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p18","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":16,"claim":"md12982-bbe556f3","page_group":"Chapter II. Resource Raising Norms","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Certificates issued electronically only","plain_english":"A certificate of deposit must be issued only in electronic, dematerialised form.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 15","rbi_char_offset":6442,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p19","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":17,"claim":"md12982-b70c2876","page_group":"Chapter II. Resource Raising Norms","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Five lakh minimum, in steps","plain_english":"A certificate of deposit starts at ₹5 lakh and rises only in steps of ₹5 lakh.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 17","rbi_char_offset":6621,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":"An AIFI planning Rs 47 lakh through one certificate finds a problem: Rs 47 lakh is not a multiple of Rs 5 lakh. The nearest multiples are Rs 45 lakh and Rs 50 lakh.","anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p20","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":18,"claim":"md12982-aa871f59","page_group":"Chapter II. Resource Raising Norms","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"One to three years","plain_english":"A certificate of deposit must run for at least a year and no more than three.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 18","rbi_char_offset":6722,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p21","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":19,"claim":"md12982-ffea28b5","page_group":"Chapter II. Resource Raising Norms","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Bonds, three-year minimum","plain_english":"A bond issued under this book must have a minimum maturity of three years.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 24","rbi_char_offset":9293,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p22","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":20,"claim":"md12982-87e8365a","page_group":"Chapter II. Resource Raising Norms","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"The old limit is gone","plain_english":"The Overall Borrowing Limit was dropped when the Leverage Ratio began on April 1, 2024.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4","rbi_char_offset":3808,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p23","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md12982-7958d6c5","page_group":"Chapter III. Repeal and Other Provisions","stored_section":"WHAT IT REPLACES","heading":"Old resource-raising rules are gone","plain_english":"All earlier RBI rules on resource raising for these institutions now stand repealed.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 26","rbi_char_offset":10059,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p24","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md12982-c4362ec4","page_group":"Chapter III. Repeal and Other Provisions","stored_section":"WHAT IT REPLACES","heading":"Past actions still stand","plain_english":"Anything done under the old rules stays governed by those old rules.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 27","rbi_char_offset":10452,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p25","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md12982-9d276afe","page_group":"Chapter III. Repeal and Other Provisions","stored_section":"WHAT IT REPLACES","heading":"This adds to other law","plain_english":"These rules sit on top of other laws, and take nothing away from them.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 28","rbi_char_offset":11479,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md12982#p26","layer":"bankpulse"}],"actions":[],"amendments":[],"layers":{"rbi_source":"Facts taken from RBI's own document.","bankpulse":"BankPulse's plain-English summary of RBI's document.","bankpulse_inference":"BankPulse's own inference, not stated by RBI."},"rbi_wording_not_included":"By design. BankPulse never republishes RBI's exact sentences. Use rbi_paragraph with rbi_source.url to read RBI's own words.","terms":"BankPulse's plain-English summaries are BankPulse's own work. The underlying regulation is the Reserve Bank of India's. Always check the RBI document named in rbi_source before acting."}