{"what_this_is":"The machine-readable twin of the BankPulse page for one RBI rulebook. Same points, same dates, same paragraph references as the page a person reads. RBI's own wording is not reproduced here: each point names the RBI paragraph, the character offset into the text BankPulse read and the sha256 of that text, so the claim can be checked against RBI's own document.","schema_version":1,"release_id":"d653cdb0a5","generated_at":"2026-09-15T00:33:59.117975+00:00","id":"md13135","title":"Reserve Bank of India (Small Finance Banks – Licensing) Guidelines, 2025","document_kind":"Regulatory document","page":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135","status":"In force","importance":{"code":"FYI","label":"FOR INFORMATION","weight":"For information","why":"General RBI update: no desk rule matched — read the source if it touches your work","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"applies_to":{"shown":"Companies and groups seeking a small finance bank licence","class_code":"ALL","from":"the document's own title","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"dates":{"prid":"md13135","mode":"four_dates_v1","published":{"label":"Published","value":"Nov 28, 2025","stated":true,"why":"The day RBI put this document out."},"effective":{"label":"Starts to apply","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Not stated separately in this document. Read the rule itself before you assume a start date."},"transition":{"label":"Time to get ready","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Cannot be worked out until the day it starts to apply is known."},"deadline":{"label":"Last date to act","value":"","stated":false,"why":"No date to act by was found in this document. Other dates may sit inside single paragraphs."},"sources":{"published":"doc_date in data/highlights/md13135.json","effective":"none held","transition":"none held","deadline":"none held"}},"rbi_source":{"url":"https://rbi.org.in/Scripts/BS_ViewMasDirections.aspx?id=13135","document_date":"Nov 28, 2025","read_by_bankpulse":"2026-08-21 16:16:46 UTC","text_sha256":"b4991e7afbdda185a4758639acfaf813701619c9e3daa111dcb2d38ff6e59478","word_count":8695,"standing_last_checked":"Standing checked on RBI’s Master Directions index, 15 September 2026, 5:58 am IST."},"counts":{"points_shown":37,"points_naming_an_rbi_paragraph":37,"points_stored":37,"actions":0,"amendments":0},"points":[{"n":1,"claim":"md13135-52a9277a","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Registers as a public company","plain_english":"The bank must register as a public limited company.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 6","rbi_char_offset":7543,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p1","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md13135-f26af341","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Ten years' banking experience needed","plain_english":"A promoter must show ten years of senior banking experience.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 8","rbi_char_offset":8824,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p2","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md13135-c7567619","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"NBFCs and MFIs can convert","plain_english":"NBFCs, MFIs and Local Area Banks may convert into small finance banks.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 8","rbi_char_offset":9584,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p3","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":4,"claim":"md13135-ca1ad908","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"No joint promoter ventures","plain_english":"Different promoter groups cannot jointly set up one small finance bank.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 8","rbi_char_offset":10328,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p4","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":5,"claim":"md13135-5c804451","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Shell banks barred","plain_english":"A shell bank cannot promote or set up a bank.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 8","rbi_char_offset":11734,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p5","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":6,"claim":"md13135-6af2f13f","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Rural branches within a year","plain_english":"It must open 25 per cent of branches in unbanked rural areas within a year.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 15","rbi_char_offset":16771,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p6","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":7,"claim":"md13135-7fbe51e5","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Name must show its status","plain_english":"Its name must include the words \"Small Finance Bank\".","rbi_paragraph":"Para 18","rbi_char_offset":18392,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p7","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":8,"claim":"md13135-03fce864","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"₹300 crore minimum capital","plain_english":"A small finance bank needs at least ₹300 crore paid-up capital.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 19","rbi_char_offset":18535,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p8","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":9,"claim":"md13135-77e291a2","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"₹150 crore net worth needed","plain_english":"It must reach ₹150 crore net worth from the date it opens.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 19","rbi_char_offset":18714,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p9","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":10,"claim":"md13135-b08ad32b","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"15% capital adequacy required","plain_english":"It must maintain 15 per cent capital adequacy on a continuous basis.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 20","rbi_char_offset":19416,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p10","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":11,"claim":"md13135-9d5a0509","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Tier I floor, 7.5%","plain_english":"Tier I capital must be at least 7.5 per cent of assets.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 20","rbi_char_offset":19654,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p11","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":12,"claim":"md13135-0056088d","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"40% promoter stake, five years","plain_english":"Promoters must hold 40 per cent of shares for five years.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 21","rbi_char_offset":20004,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p12","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":13,"claim":"md13135-c719d081","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Stake falls to 26% later","plain_english":"That stake must fall to 26 per cent within 15 years.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 21","rbi_char_offset":20564,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p13","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":14,"claim":"md13135-105ab7d4","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Listing due within eight years","plain_english":"The bank must list its shares within eight years of starting.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 25","rbi_char_offset":22241,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p14","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":15,"claim":"md13135-43f3dee3","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"IMPACT","heading":"26% voting-rights ceiling for all","plain_english":"No shareholder may hold more than 26 per cent of voting rights.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 27","rbi_char_offset":23210,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p15","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":16,"claim":"md13135-d2a7ab00","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"IMPACT","heading":"5% share buys need approval","plain_english":"Buying 5 per cent or more of its shares needs RBI's approval.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 27","rbi_char_offset":23425,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p16","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":17,"claim":"md13135-1c79f80e","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Same CRR and SLR rules","plain_english":"It must meet the same CRR and SLR rules as other banks.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 28","rbi_char_offset":23900,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p17","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":18,"claim":"md13135-04f798df","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"IMPACT","heading":"60% goes to priority lending","plain_english":"It must direct 60 per cent of adjusted credit to priority-sector lending.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 29","rbi_char_offset":24281,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p18","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":19,"claim":"md13135-9c22d158","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Half its loans stay small","plain_english":"At least 50 per cent of its loans must be ₹25 lakh or below.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 30","rbi_char_offset":25338,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p19","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":20,"claim":"md13135-9e81401f","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"₹25 lakh cap, per borrower","plain_english":"The ₹25 lakh loan limit applies borrower by borrower.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 30","rbi_char_offset":25697,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p20","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":21,"claim":"md13135-de46c46d","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"IMPACT","heading":"Extra 25% risk weight applies","plain_english":"Converting NBFCs face a 25 per cent extra risk weight on charged assets.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 33","rbi_char_offset":27636,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p21","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":22,"claim":"md13135-83e83439","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Board needs independent-director majority","plain_english":"Most of the bank's board must be independent directors.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 35","rbi_char_offset":28699,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p22","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":23,"claim":"md13135-c6478061","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"IMPACT","heading":"One bank licence per promoter","plain_english":"One promoter cannot hold both a universal and small finance bank licence.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 37","rbi_char_offset":29173,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p23","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":24,"claim":"md13135-4ef37d6d","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"IMPACT","heading":"Share limits follow Annex-I","plain_english":"Its share-ownership limits follow a separate RBI rulebook.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 39","rbi_char_offset":29603,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p24","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":25,"claim":"md13135-bbeff14a","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"IMPACT","heading":"Cannot be another bank's BC","plain_english":"It cannot act as a business correspondent for another bank.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 41","rbi_char_offset":30216,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p25","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":26,"claim":"md13135-0bb64138","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"IMPACT","heading":"Non-compliance can cost the licence","plain_english":"Breaking these terms can mean losing the bank's licence.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 44","rbi_char_offset":30979,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p26","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":27,"claim":"md13135-24455f81","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"18 months to meet conditions","plain_english":"Promoters must meet every condition within 18 months of approval.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 45","rbi_char_offset":31612,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p27","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":28,"claim":"md13135-c7fb87ac","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Approval itself lasts 18 months","plain_english":"RBI's initial approval expires after 18 months.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 51","rbi_char_offset":33760,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p28","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":29,"claim":"md13135-643dba7a","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Directors must be fit, proper","plain_english":"The board must meet RBI's fit-and-proper standard.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 61","rbi_char_offset":38373,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p29","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":30,"claim":"md13135-a7fc2127","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"UCBs need ₹50 crore","plain_english":"A transitioning UCB needs at least ₹50 crore net worth.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 65","rbi_char_offset":40045,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p30","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":31,"claim":"md13135-1c7968bf","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"UCB promoters need experience","plain_english":"UCB promoters must be residents with ten years' banking experience.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 66","rbi_char_offset":40662,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p31","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":32,"claim":"md13135-c1a4dd9b","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"UCB-path promoters keep 26%","plain_english":"Promoters converting from a UCB must hold at least 26% of shares.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 67","rbi_char_offset":41505,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p32","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md13135-a16a324a","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"IMPACT","heading":"High-powered grievance cell required","plain_english":"Every bank needs a high-powered cell for customer complaints.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 43","rbi_char_offset":30645,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p33","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md13135-cc4162ca","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"One month to appeal","plain_english":"An appeal must be filed within one month of RBI's decision.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 55","rbi_char_offset":34881,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p34","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md13135-169ca5f8","page_group":"Do it","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Apply anytime through PRAVAAH","plain_english":"A UCB may apply to transition at any time, through PRAVAAH.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 69","rbi_char_offset":42136,"weight":"DO IT","role":"Compliance","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p35","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md13135-bbb77e2a","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"AIFs not accepted as promoters","plain_english":"Proposals from Alternative Investment Funds are not accepted as promoters.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 8","rbi_char_offset":11527,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p36","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md13135-a9080223","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"KEY DATES","heading":"Three-year bar on reapplying","plain_english":"A rejected applicant cannot reapply for three years.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 54","rbi_char_offset":34660,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13135#p37","layer":"bankpulse"}],"actions":[],"amendments":[],"layers":{"rbi_source":"Facts taken from RBI's own document.","bankpulse":"BankPulse's plain-English summary of RBI's document.","bankpulse_inference":"BankPulse's own inference, not stated by RBI."},"rbi_wording_not_included":"By design. BankPulse never republishes RBI's exact sentences. Use rbi_paragraph with rbi_source.url to read RBI's own words.","terms":"BankPulse's plain-English summaries are BankPulse's own work. The underlying regulation is the Reserve Bank of India's. Always check the RBI document named in rbi_source before acting."}