{"what_this_is":"The machine-readable twin of the BankPulse page for one RBI rulebook. Same points, same dates, same paragraph references as the page a person reads. RBI's own wording is not reproduced here: each point names the RBI paragraph, the character offset into the text BankPulse read and the sha256 of that text, so the claim can be checked against RBI's own document.","schema_version":1,"release_id":"d653cdb0a5","generated_at":"2026-09-15T00:33:59.117975+00:00","id":"md13203","title":"Reserve Bank of India (Urban Co-operative Banks – Licensing, Scheduling and Regulatory Classification) Guidelines, 2025","document_kind":"Regulatory document","page":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13203","status":"In force","importance":{"code":"FYI","label":"FOR INFORMATION","weight":"For information","why":"General RBI update: no desk rule matched — read the source if it touches your work","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"applies_to":{"shown":"Urban co-operative banks","class_code":"ALL","from":"the document's own title","layer":"bankpulse_inference"},"dates":{"prid":"md13203","mode":"four_dates_v1","published":{"label":"Published","value":"Nov 28, 2025","stated":true,"why":"The day RBI put this document out."},"effective":{"label":"Starts to apply","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Not stated separately in this document. Read the rule itself before you assume a start date."},"transition":{"label":"Time to get ready","value":"","stated":false,"why":"Cannot be worked out until the day it starts to apply is known."},"deadline":{"label":"Last date to act","value":"","stated":false,"why":"No date to act by was found in this document. Other dates may sit inside single paragraphs."},"sources":{"published":"doc_date in data/highlights/md13203.json","effective":"none held","transition":"none held","deadline":"none held"}},"rbi_source":{"url":"https://rbi.org.in/Scripts/BS_ViewMasDirections.aspx?id=13203","document_date":"Nov 28, 2025","read_by_bankpulse":"2026-08-21 16:18:41 UTC","text_sha256":"aef81b59f7eabbcb7acc88d5e4dba617b5e6b6100feeda78b427d7579f6de420","word_count":948,"standing_last_checked":"Standing checked on RBI’s Master Directions index, 15 September 2026, 5:58 am IST."},"counts":{"points_shown":12,"points_naming_an_rbi_paragraph":12,"points_stored":12,"actions":0,"amendments":0},"points":[{"n":1,"claim":"md13203-faec7735","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"No conversions either","plain_english":"Co-operative credit societies cannot convert into urban co-operative banks now.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 1","rbi_char_offset":2127,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13203#p1","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md13203-7b5bdb2b","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Tier 1, the smallest","plain_english":"Tier 1 holds all unit and salary earners' banks, plus others with deposits up to ₹100 crore.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 2","rbi_char_offset":2935,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13203#p2","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md13203-6384823d","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Tiers 2 and 3","plain_english":"Tier 2 runs from ₹100 crore to ₹1000 crore; Tier 3 from there to ₹10,000 crore.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 2","rbi_char_offset":3068,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":"An urban co-operative bank holds deposits of 600 crore rupees. That is more than 100 crore and up to 1000 crore, so it is Tier 2. A bank holding 4,000 crore of deposits is Tier 3.","anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13203#p3","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":4,"claim":"md13203-0bbfe1bf","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Tier 4, the largest","plain_english":"Tier 4 holds banks with deposits above ₹10,000 crore.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 2","rbi_char_offset":3212,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13203#p4","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":5,"claim":"md13203-a63432de","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Two years to adjust","plain_english":"A bank moving up a tier gets up to two years to meet the higher tier's rules.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 4","rbi_char_offset":3517,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13203#p5","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":6,"claim":"md13203-de563d22","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"Extra capital demanded","plain_english":"That door also needs capital at least three per cent above the bank's minimum requirement.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5","rbi_char_offset":4568,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13203#p6","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":7,"claim":"md13203-7f5e3dbf","page_group":"Must know","stored_section":"WHO SHOULD ACT","heading":"Papers with the application","plain_english":"The application carries a board resolution and the last three years' published balance sheets.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 6","rbi_char_offset":5290,"weight":"MUST KNOW","role":"Board","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13203#p7","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":1,"claim":"md13203-2f083ee2","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"No new bank licences","plain_english":"RBI is not considering any fresh proposal for a new urban co-operative bank.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 1","rbi_char_offset":2079,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13203#p8","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":2,"claim":"md13203-2b49cd04","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"WHO IT APPLIES TO","heading":"Which banks these are","plain_english":"Urban co-operative banks means primary co-operative banks under section 5(ccv) read with section 56 of the law.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 1","rbi_char_offset":2252,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"All staff","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13203#p9","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":3,"claim":"md13203-5734a9e9","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"THE CORE IDEA","heading":"Four size tiers","plain_english":"Every bank sits in one of four tiers, set by its deposit size.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 2","rbi_char_offset":2846,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13203#p10","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":4,"claim":"md13203-51bf62f3","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"March books decide","plain_english":"The tier is set by deposits in the audited balance sheet of the previous 31st March.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 3","rbi_char_offset":3311,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Audit","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13203#p11","layer":"bankpulse"},{"n":5,"claim":"md13203-b7fd14f9","page_group":"Background","stored_section":"WHAT CHANGES","heading":"The scheduled bank door","plain_english":"A bank holding Tier 3 size deposits for two straight years may apply to become a scheduled bank.","rbi_paragraph":"Para 5","rbi_char_offset":4471,"weight":"BACKGROUND","role":"Branch","team":null,"products_covered":[],"products_excluded":[],"bankpulse_example":null,"anchor":"https://bankpulse.ai/rule/md13203#p12","layer":"bankpulse"}],"actions":[],"amendments":[],"layers":{"rbi_source":"Facts taken from RBI's own document.","bankpulse":"BankPulse's plain-English summary of RBI's document.","bankpulse_inference":"BankPulse's own inference, not stated by RBI."},"rbi_wording_not_included":"By design. BankPulse never republishes RBI's exact sentences. Use rbi_paragraph with rbi_source.url to read RBI's own words.","terms":"BankPulse's plain-English summaries are BankPulse's own work. The underlying regulation is the Reserve Bank of India's. Always check the RBI document named in rbi_source before acting."}