Reserve Bank of India (Housing Finance Companies) Directions, 2025 (Updated as on April 15, 2026)
UR
- Applies toFinance companies · read from RBI’s Para 3
- StatusIn force
- ImportanceMUST READ
- IssuedNov 28, 2025
- Last amendedAug 06, 2026 · 3 incorporated
- Length82 points in 4 sections · 8 min read
The four dates on this rule
- PublishedNov 28, 2025The day RBI put this document out.
- Starts to applyNot statedNot stated separately in this document. Read the rule itself before you assume a start date.
- Time to get readyNot statedCannot be worked out until the day it starts to apply is known.
- Last date to actNot statedNo date to act by was found in this document. Other dates may sit inside single paragraphs.
Kept in your browser only. Your desk
Show me the points for
Nothing is removed from the page.
Show me the points about
60 of the 82 points name no product and bind every product. All products.
Numbers to remember
| ₹20 crore | An HFC needs at least ₹20 crore of net owned funds to carry on housing finance. RBI Para 16 |
| 15 per cent | An HFC's Tier 1 and Tier 2 capital must total at least 15 per cent of risk weighted assets. RBI Para 20 |
| 10 per cent | Tier 1 capital alone must be at least 10 per cent at all times. RBI Para 20 |
| 100 per cent | Tier 2 capital may never exceed 100 per cent of Tier 1 capital. RBI Para 20 |
| two years | If a company's balance sheet is missing for two years, its shares are valued at one rupee. RBI Para 45 |
| ₹30 lakh | For a loan up to ₹30 lakh, the loan-to-value ratio may not exceed 90 per cent. RBI Para 58 |
| ₹75 lakh | Between ₹30 lakh and ₹75 lakh, the ratio may not exceed 80 per cent. RBI Para 58(2) |
| 75 per cent | Above ₹75 lakh, the ratio may not exceed 75 per cent. RBI Para 58(3) |
| 20 per cent | The HFC's own investment in land or buildings may not exceed 20 per cent of its capital fund. RBI Para 65 |
| three years | Land taken over on default is sold within three years, unless NHB extends that. RBI Para 65 |
| 40 per cent | The HFC's total exposure to the capital market may not exceed 40 per cent of its net worth. RBI Para 66 |
| five per cent | No single broker may carry more than five per cent of a year's brokered deals. RBI Para 74(6) |
| eight per cent | The deposit-taking HFC's liquid-asset requirement rose from eight per cent to ten per cent on July 01, 2025. RBI Para 76(1) |
| fifteen percent | A second deposit buffer rose from fourteen percent to fifteen percent on July 01, 2025. RBI Para 76 |
What it says
Chapter I. Preliminary
Must know
1. Rules start on posting
The rules take effect the day RBI posts them on its website.
2. Who must follow this
This rule book applies to every housing finance company registered under Section 29A of the NHB Act.
3. Other RBI rules still apply
Directions issued by any other RBI department that bind the HFC must still be followed.
4. Half must reach individuals
At least 50% of that housing finance must go to individual borrowers.
Do it
5. Plot loans need a promise
A plot loan needs the borrower's promise to build within three years.
Background
6. Name of the rules
The rules are called the Reserve Bank of India Housing Finance Companies Directions, 2025.
7. Chapter IX binds auditors
Chapter IX applies to the HFC's auditors, not to the HFC itself.
8. NHB is the supervisor
Supervisory reporting for the HFC goes to the National Housing Bank, its supervisor.
9. What counts as housing finance
Housing finance means financing to construct, purchase, renovate or repair a home.
10. Sixty per cent housing test
An HFC is an NBFC whose housing-finance assets make up at least 60% of its total assets.
11. Net owned fund defined
Net owned fund is the HFC's net owned fund as defined under Section 29A of the NHB Act.
Chapter II. Role of Board and Registration
Must know
1. Minimum net owned funds
An HFC needs at least ₹20 crore of net owned funds to carry on housing finance.
2. Registration can be cancelled
An HFC that misses the net owned fund deadline can lose its Certificate of Registration.
3. Reclassified as NBFC-ICC
An HFC that cannot meet the housing-finance test becomes an NBFC-ICC instead.
Do it
4. Board approves the policies
The board approves the HFC's policies and reviews mechanisms regularly.
5. One month to certify
The HFC must give the auditor's certificate on that to RBI within one month.
Background
6. NOF deadline was 2023
An HFC below ₹20 crore in net owned funds had to reach ₹20 crore by March 31, 2023.
Chapter III. Prudential Regulation – Capital
1. Capital ratio at least 15%
An HFC's Tier 1 and Tier 2 capital must total at least 15 per cent of risk weighted assets.
2. Tier 1 at least ten
Tier 1 capital alone must be at least 10 per cent at all times.
3. Capped at Tier 1 level
Tier 2 capital may never exceed 100 per cent of Tier 1 capital.
Chapter IV. Prudential Regulation - Asset Classification and Provisioning
Must know
1. Four asset classes
The HFC sorts every loan into standard, sub-standard, doubtful or loss.
2. No upgrade by reschedule alone
Rescheduling a loan alone does not upgrade its asset class.
3. One rupee when unknown
If a company's balance sheet is missing for two years, its shares are valued at one rupee.
4. Loss assets fully written off
A loss asset is written off in full, or fully provided for if kept on the books.
5. Doubtful provision, 25 to 100
The secured portion of a doubtful asset can need anywhere from 25% to 100% provisioning.
6. Sub-standard provision fifteen
A sub-standard asset carries a general provision of 15 per cent of the outstanding amount.
7. Teaser loans need 2%
Standard housing loans at teaser rates carry a 2% provision on the outstanding amount.
8. General standard provision 0.4%
Ordinary standard housing loans need a general provision of 0.4% of the outstanding.
Do it
9. Stress flagged on default
The HFC flags a loan as a special mention account immediately on default.
Chapter V. Prudential Regulation- Regulatory Restrictions and Limits
Must know
1. LTV limit ninety per cent
For a loan up to ₹30 lakh, the loan-to-value ratio may not exceed 90 per cent.
2. LTV limit eighty per cent
Between ₹30 lakh and ₹75 lakh, the ratio may not exceed 80 per cent.
3. LTV limit seventy-five
Above ₹75 lakh, the ratio may not exceed 75 per cent.
4. Fifteen per cent per HFC
Investment in the shares of one other HFC may not exceed 15 per cent of its equity capital.
5. Group exposure caps
Exposure to one group real-estate company may not exceed 15 per cent of Tier 1 capital.
6. Twenty per cent land cap
The HFC's own investment in land or buildings may not exceed 20 per cent of its capital fund.
7. Three years to dispose
Land taken over on default is sold within three years, unless NHB extends that.
8. Capital market cap forty
The HFC's total exposure to the capital market may not exceed 40 per cent of its net worth.
9. Direct shares capped twenty
Within that, direct shares and equity mutual funds may not exceed 20 per cent of net worth.
10. Broker only introduces the deal
A broker's role stops at bringing the two sides together.
11. Broker limit five per cent
No single broker may carry more than five per cent of a year's brokered deals.
BankPulse example. An HFC put 200 crore of deals through brokers last year. Five per cent of 200 crore is 10 crore, so that is what any one broker may carry. Deals done straight with a Primary Dealer are left out of that limit.
12. Small HFCs are exempt
That five per cent broker limit does not apply if total yearly transactions are under ₹20 crore.
Do it
13. Board panel of brokers
The HFC's top management approves a broker panel, reviewed at least once a year.
Chapter VI. Prudential Regulation- Acceptance of Public Deposits
Must know
1. Liquid assets rose in 2025
The deposit-taking HFC's liquid-asset requirement rose from eight per cent to ten per cent on July 01, 2025.
2. Second buffer also rose
A second deposit buffer rose from fourteen percent to fifteen percent on July 01, 2025.
3. Deposits capped at 12x NOF
Total deposits and NHB borrowings may not exceed twelve times the HFC's net owned funds.
4. Freeze on fresh deposits
An HFC over its deposit limit stops taking fresh deposits and renewals.
5. Early exit rate capped
Early withdrawal after three months but up to six months pays at most four per cent a year, for individuals.
6. One per cent below normal
After six months, early exit pays one per cent below the normal deposit rate.
Chapter VIII. Corporate Governance
1. Auditors rotate every three years
A non-deposit HFC under ₹1,000 crore rotates its audit partner every three years.
Chapter IX. Auditor’s Report
1. Auditor reports non-compliance
The auditor must report certain non-compliance directly to NHB and RBI.
Chapter X. Fair Practices Code
Must know
1. Sixty days to switch
A borrower may close or switch a loan within 60 days of a disadvantageous change, free of charge.
2. No cash payment to agents
The HFC pays DSAs and DMAs only by direct credit to their bank account, never in cash.
3. Guarantor default is wilful
A guarantor who can pay but refuses is treated as a wilful defaulter too.
4. Customer data stays private
The HFC may not reveal customer account data to anyone, including group companies.
5. No pre-payment levy, floating loans
The HFC may not charge a pre-payment levy on a floating-rate housing loan closed early.
6. No discrimination in lending
The HFC may not discriminate on sex, caste or religion when lending.
7. No disability discrimination
The HFC may not discriminate against visually impaired or disabled applicants.
8. Calls only between set hours
Recovery calls to a customer happen only between 8 a.m. and 7 p.m.
9. No third party during visits
Only Recovery Agency employees may visit a borrower's premises, and no one else joins them.
10. Complaint pauses recovery agency
The HFC does not send a case to a recovery agency while a complaint about it is unresolved.
11. No extra burden, visually impaired
No extra interest or collateral burden may be placed on a visually impaired customer.
12. Thumb impression, not illiteracy
The HFC does not treat a visually impaired customer as illiterate.
Do it
13. Reject reason given in writing
If the HFC will not lend, it tells the customer why, in writing.
14. One week to acknowledge
The HFC tries to acknowledge a written complaint within a week.
15. Six weeks for final response
The HFC tries to send its final response within six weeks of a complaint.
16. Annual review of vendors
The HFC reviews each outsourced service provider's condition at least once a year.
17. Written permission for references
The HFC gets the customer's written permission before giving a reference about them.
18. Recovery agents trained yearly
All of the HFC's recovery agents complete IIBF training within one year.
Background
19. One month, then NHB
If the HFC gives no reply within a month, the complainant may go to NHB.
20. Lok Adalat for small loans
The HFC is encouraged to use Lok Adalats for housing loans under ₹10 lakh.
Chapter XI. Miscellaneous Instructions
Must know
1. No loans for unauthorised colonies
The HFC may not lend on property in an unauthorised, unregularised colony.
2. No disguised commercial-use loans
The HFC may not lend on a residential property the applicant plans to use commercially.
3. Disbursal follows construction stage
Disbursal of a housing loan follows the stages of construction, not paid upfront.
4. No servicing loans for builders
The HFC does not offer loan products where builders service the dues for borrowers.
5. DTA deducted from Tier 1
A deferred tax asset counts as intangible and is deducted from Tier 1 capital.
6. Only excess above 20% moves
The HFC may use only the amount above the statutory 20 per cent minimum in its reserve fund.
7. Penalty under Section 52A
RBI or NHB can fine the HFC for any breach of the Act or these directions.
Do it
8. Sanctioned plan required first
For a construction loan, the HFC first obtains a copy of the sanctioned building plan.
9. Seven days for counterfeit notes
A quarterly counterfeit-note report reaches NHB within seven days of quarter end.
Chapter XII. Reporting Requirements
1. Fifteen days to NHB
Audited financial statements reach NHB within fifteen days of the annual general meeting.
Chapter XV. Repeal and Other Provisions
1. Old rules stand repealed
These directions repeal all earlier RBI instructions to housing finance companies.
2. Past actions stay governed
Anything already done under the old rules stays governed by them.
How this rule has changed
The points above are the rule as it stands today, after every change listed here.
Issued on Nov 28, 2025. This is the date RBI put the rule out.
Changed on Mar 10, 2026.
- Start date. These amendment rules take effect at once from their issue date.
- Quarterly profit review. Quarterly profits count in owned fund only if statutory auditors review or audit each quarter.
- Quarterly profit adjustment. Eligible quarterly profit must be cut by one quarter of average dividend of the last three years.
- Definition of EPt. EPt means the profit that can be counted up to that quarter in the current year.
Changed on Jun 15, 2026.
- Effective date. These new amendment rules will start from January 1, 2027.
- Follow NBFC conduct rules. Each housing finance company must follow paragraphs 101A to 101ZA of the responsible business conduct rules.
Changed on Aug 06, 2026.
- Start date. These amendment rules will apply from January 1, 2027.
- What it changes. The old rule A.15 and paragraph 170 on recovery agents in Chapter X are removed and replaced.
- New HFC conduct rule. A housing finance company must follow paragraphs 100A to 100AB of the Responsible Business Conduct Directions.