Reserve Bank of India (Small Finance Banks – Concentration Risk Management) Directions, 2025 (Updated as on July 01, 2026)
UR
- Applies toSmall finance banks
- StatusIn force
- ImportanceMUST READ
- IssuedNov 28, 2025
- Last amendedMar 30, 2026 · 2 incorporated
- Length49 points in 5 sections · 5 min read
The four dates on this rule
- PublishedNov 28, 2025The day RBI put this document out.
- Starts to applyNot statedNot stated separately in this document. Read the rule itself before you assume a start date.
- Time to get readyNot statedCannot be worked out until the day it starts to apply is known.
- Last date to actNot statedNo date to act by was found in this document. Other dates may sit inside single paragraphs.
Kept in your browser only. Your desk
Show me the points for
Nothing is removed from the page.
Show me the points about
45 of the 49 points name no product and bind every product. All products.
Numbers to remember
| 10 per cent | One borrower may get up to 10 per cent of capital funds. One group may get up to 15 per cent. RBI Para 10 |
| ₹25 lakh | The ₹25 lakh test is applied borrower by borrower. RBI Para 11 |
| 15 per cent | The bank may lend one NBFC up to 10 per cent of capital funds. For an NBFC group the cap is 15 per cent. RBI Para 14 |
| 7.5 per cent | The bank may lend only 7.5 per cent of capital funds to a mainly gold lending NBFC. RBI Para 15 |
| 20 per cent | Credit to Indian joint ventures and subsidiaries abroad stops at 20 per cent of capital funds. RBI Para 41 |
| 25 per cent | Any buy back offer to small investors stays within 25 per cent of owned funds. RBI Para 46 |
| five per cent | One non-financial group company may get five per cent of paid-up capital and reserves. RBI Para 48(1) |
| one per cent | Country risk must be watched once net funded exposure reaches one per cent of total assets. RBI Para 67 |
What it says
Chapter I. Preliminary
Must know
1. Starts at once
The rules start the moment RBI issues them.
2. Who must follow this
These rules apply to every small finance bank.
3. Capital counted from March
Capital funds come from the published accounts as on March 31 of the previous year.
4. Quarterly profit does not count
Profit earned during the year does not lift the ceiling.
5. No lending on future capital
A bank may not lend against capital it only hopes to raise later.
6. Sanctioned or outstanding, higher
The bank counts the higher of the sanctioned limit and the amount drawn.
7. Fully drawn term loans
For a fully drawn term loan the bank may count only the amount drawn.
8. The bank decides the group
The bank itself decides who belongs to a group. The test is common management and real control.
Chapter IV. Exposure Norms
Must know
1. Ten and fifteen per cent
One borrower may get up to 10 per cent of capital funds. One group may get up to 15 per cent.
BankPulse example. A small finance bank lends to one company and to other firms in the same group. The loan to that one company may not cross 10 per cent of the bank's capital funds. Everything lent to the whole group together may not cross 15 per cent. Both tests apply at the same time, so the group room can be full while the single name is not.
2. The limit is per borrower
The ₹25 lakh test is applied borrower by borrower.
3. Clearing house is exempt
Clearing work with a recognised clearing house sits outside the 10 per cent cap.
4. Other clearing houses are not
A clearing house that is not recognised stays inside the 10 per cent cap.
5. NBFC lending has a cap
The bank may lend one NBFC up to 10 per cent of capital funds. For an NBFC group the cap is 15 per cent.
6. Gold loan NBFC lower
The bank may lend only 7.5 per cent of capital funds to a mainly gold lending NBFC.
7. Consortium loans are covered
The same limits apply when several banks lend together.
8. Who owns the bill risk
A bill discounted under another bank's letter of credit counts against that bank.
9. Food credit is exempt
Borrowers given food credit limits by RBI itself are outside the ceiling.
10. Government guarantee is exempt
A loan fully guaranteed by the Government of India is outside the ceiling.
11. Loans on own deposits
A loan against the bank's own term deposit is left out where a lien exists.
12. NABARD is exempt
Money lent to NABARD is outside the single and group ceiling.
13. Top up loans unsecured
A top up loan against a vehicle is treated as unsecured.
14. Overseas arms capped
Credit to Indian joint ventures and subsidiaries abroad stops at 20 per cent of capital funds.
15. No safety net promise
A bank may not promise to buy shares back at a price fixed in advance.
16. Buy back stays small
Any buy back offer to small investors stays within 25 per cent of owned funds.
Do it
17. Half the book stays small
At least 50 per cent of the loan book must be loans of ₹25 lakh or less.
18. Board fixes sector limits
The board must set its own limits for each sector, such as textiles or tea.
19. Unsecured consumer credit needs limits
The board must set a limit for every unsecured consumer loan.
20. A sub-limit for gold NBFCs
The bank must set an inner limit for all gold loan NBFCs together.
Background
21. Borrower and obligor same
RBI uses the words borrower and obligor to mean the same thing.
Chapter V. Prudential Limits on Intra-Group Transactions and Exposure
Must know
1. Group limits, single entity
One non-financial group company may get five per cent of paid-up capital and reserves.
2. Regulated group firms more
A regulated financial group company may get 10 per cent.
3. Whole group stops at twenty
All group companies together may not cross 20 per cent of paid-up capital and reserves.
4. Nothing to the holding company
A bank under a holding company may not lend to that holding company.
5. A breach stops fresh deals
If a group limit is crossed, the bank may take no further group exposure.
6. Capital is cut for breach
The excess is taken off Common Equity Tier 1 capital until the limit is met again.
7. Penalty for repeat breaches
Repeated breaches can bring an RBI penalty on the bank.
Do it
8. One policy for group deals
The board must approve a full policy on dealings with group companies.
9. Review the policy yearly
That policy must be looked at again at least once a year.
10. No cross default clause
The bank may not sign a clause that turns a group default into its own.
11. No trading bad assets inside
The bank may not buy or sell bad loans with its own group.
12. Report big group deals
Group deals above ₹10 crore funded, or ₹25 crore non-funded, must be listed for RBI.
Chapter VI. Management of Country Risk Exposure
1. Country limit caps at capital
No single country may be given more than the bank's own regulatory capital. Only the lowest risk group is left out.
2. Indirect country risk counts
Country risk must be watched once net funded exposure reaches one per cent of total assets.
3. Country risk counted net
Country exposure is counted after collateral, guarantees and insurance are taken off.
4. Country limits reviewed yearly
The board must look at country limits again at least once a year.
Chapter VIII. Repeal and other provisions
1. The old rules are gone
All earlier concentration risk instructions for small finance banks stand repealed.
2. Old actions still stand
Anything already done under the old rules is still judged by them.
3. Other laws still apply
These rules sit on top of other laws. They do not take the place of them.
4. RBI's reading is final
Where the wording is unclear, RBI's own reading of it is final.
How this rule has changed
The points above are the rule as it stands today, after every change listed here.
Issued on Nov 28, 2025. This is the date RBI put the rule out.
Changed on Dec 04, 2025. Takes effect From January 1, 2026..
- credit assessment focus. Banks must check total banking system debt when they rate ultra large borrowers.
- effective date. These changes apply from January 1, 2026.
Changed on Mar 30, 2026.
- Intra‑day CME policy. Board policy must set intra-day capital market exposure limits within the prudential limits in these directions.
- What counts as CME. Capital market exposure includes both direct and indirect, fund based and non-fund based exposures listed in paragraph 28A.
- New CME ceilings. Total capital market exposure cannot be more than 40 percent of Tier 1 capital, solo and consolidated.
- Direct CME sub‑limit. Direct capital market exposure from investments cannot be more than 20 percent of Tier 1 capital, solo and consolidated.
The same subject for other kinds of institution
The same subject for other kinds of institution.
Other RBI rules for small finance banks
RBI compliance officer and compliance function rules for small finance banks 2026
RBI credit bureau reporting rules for small finance banks 2025
RBI credit card and debit card rules for small finance banks 2025
Every rule page on BankPulse · Questions bankers ask, answered