Reserve Bank of India (Commercial Banks – Concentration Risk Management) Directions, 2025
UR
- Applies toCommercial banks
- StatusIn force
- ImportanceMUST READ
- IssuedNovember 28, 2025
- Last amendedJun 10, 2026 · 4 incorporated
- Length45 points in 5 sections · 4 min read
The four dates on this rule
- PublishedNovember 28, 2025The day RBI put this document out.
- Starts to applyNot statedNot stated separately in this document. Read the rule itself before you assume a start date.
- Time to get readyNot statedCannot be worked out until the day it starts to apply is known.
- Last date to actNot statedNo date to act by was found in this document. Other dates may sit inside single paragraphs.
Kept in your browser only. Your desk
Show me the points for
Nothing is removed from the page.
Show me the points about
44 of the 45 points name no product and bind every product. All products.
Numbers to remember
| 50 percent | One firm holding more than 50 percent of another's votes counts as control. RBI Para 21(1) |
| April 1, 2019 | A foreign bank may leave out derivative contracts made before April 1, 2019. RBI Para 43(4) |
| 25 percent | Interbank exposure is capped at 25 percent of Tier 1 capital, apart from intra-day. RBI Para 62 |
| 0.25 percent | The bank must look through a structure to find assets worth 0.25 percent or more. RBI Para 65 |
| six months | Banks had six months from December 4, 2025 to fix any intra-group exposure breaches. RBI Para 116(2) |
What it says
Chapter I. Preliminary
Do it
1. Auditor certifies new capital
An outside auditor must certify fresh capital before it counts in the base.
Background
2. Exposure limits for banks
This document sets the limits on how much exposure a bank may build to one borrower or group.
3. Start date
These Directions came into effect immediately upon issuance.
BankPulse example. There is no gap here between issue and effect. The Directions come into effect immediately upon issuance. A bank cannot wait for a separate start date, because there is none.
4. Who is covered
This applies to commercial banks, not Small Finance Banks, Payment Banks or Local Area Banks.
5. Acquisition finance defined
Acquisition finance means what the Credit Facilities Directions say it means.
6. Profit counts as capital
For an Indian bank, profit earned during the year also counts as Tier I capital here.
7. Exempt entities still capped
Exposure to these entities still sits under the limits RBI has set.
8. Foreign branches sit outside
Branches abroad that are part of the parent bank are outside the intra-group limits.
9. Overseas branches outside the norm
A bank's exposure to its own overseas branches is outside the intra-group norms.
10. Non-debt mutual funds
A non-debt mutual fund is one whose corpus is not only in debt securities.
11. Words carry their given meaning
Terms not defined here take their meaning from the Banking Regulation Act.
Chapter II. Role of the Board
1. Board sees the reviews
Named reviews and reports must be put up to the Board.
Chapter III. Large Exposures Framework
Must know
1. Report large exposures
A bank must report its large exposures to RBI on the template in Annex I.
2. Top 20 exposure reporting
Banks must always report their 20 largest exposures to RBI, no matter the size.
3. Single counterparty cap
A single counterparty cannot receive more than 20% of a bank's eligible capital.
4. Board's extra 5 percent
In special cases, a bank's board can allow 5% more exposure to one counterparty.
5. Connected group cap
A group of connected counterparties cannot receive more than 25% of a bank's eligible capital.
6. Breach reporting
Any breach of these exposure limits must be reported to RBI right away and fixed fast.
7. Fifty per cent means control
One firm holding more than 50 percent of another's votes counts as control.
8. Old foreign bank derivatives
A foreign bank may leave out derivative contracts made before April 1, 2019.
9. Interbank exposures capped
Interbank exposure is capped at 25 percent of Tier 1 capital, apart from intra-day.
10. Look through the structure
The bank must look through a structure to find assets worth 0.25 percent or more.
11. Small structures stand alone
Where the total exposure to a structure is under 0.25 percent, the structure is the counterparty.
12. The unknown client
Where the assets cannot be identified and the exposure is larger, it goes to an unknown client.
Do it
13. Report exempt exposures too
An exempt exposure must still be reported if it is large enough to count.
14. Policy for the extra room
The Board must lay down a policy where the rules allow it extra room.
15. Check who is connected
The bank must test how counterparties are related before treating them as one group.
16. Board policy on connectedness
The Board must approve a policy for deciding when counterparties are connected.
17. Yearly undertaking on 31 March
The bank must give RBI an undertaking as on March 31 every year that the balance is kept.
Background
18. Group exposures added up
Exposures of every entity in the banking group are added and set against group capital.
19. Limits apply at solo level
The large exposure limits apply at the bank's own level, including branches abroad.
20. Hedged exposure moves across
An exempt exposure hedged by a credit derivative counts against the protection seller.
21. Consortium lending counts
The limits also cover lending under consortium, multiple banking and syndication.
22. Measure as the rules say
Exposures are measured the way the Directions themselves set out.
23. A connected group is one
A group of connected counterparties is treated as a single counterparty.
24. Control and dependence apart
Connection through control and connection through economic dependence are judged apart.
25. Money kept is not capital
Money placed under the Banking Regulation Act is not counted in capital as well.
26. Value at market price
Straight debt and equity exposures are valued at their market price.
27. Convert the derivatives
Swaps, futures, forwards and credit derivatives are turned into positions first.
Chapter V. Exposure Norms
1. Shareholding cap
A bank cannot hold shares worth more than 30% of a company's paid-up capital.
2. Capital market cap
A bank's total capital market exposure cannot exceed 40% of its eligible capital.
BankPulse example. A bank's whole capital market exposure may not exceed 40 per cent of its eligible capital base. Suppose that base is ₹2,000 crore. The exposure stops at ₹800 crore.
Chapter VI. Prudential Limits on Intra-Group Transactions and Exposure
1. Six-month repair window
Banks had six months from December 4, 2025 to fix any intra-group exposure breaches.
Chapter IX. Repeal and other provisions
1. RBI's reading final
RBI's reading of these Directions is final, and every bank must follow it.
2. Older rules cancelled
This cancels all of RBI's earlier rules on concentration risk management for commercial banks.
3. Old actions preserved
Action already started under the old rules stays governed by those old rules.
How this rule has changed
The points above are the rule as it stands today, after every change listed here.
Issued on November 28, 2025. This is the date RBI put the rule out.
Changed on Dec 04, 2025. Takes effect From April 1, 2026. Exceptions and conditions are stated in the amendment..
- Assess ultra large borrowers. Banks must use their own test to tag ultra large borrowers for credit checks.
- CRM disclosure note. Banks must show the amount kept as credit risk mitigation in Schedule 1 capital note.
- Intragroup limit timeline. Existing intragroup exposure above new limits must be cut to limits within six months.
- Chapter IV repealed. Rules on market based credit for large borrowers will end from January 1, 2026.
Changed on Mar 30, 2026.
- Define non debt mutual funds. Non debt mutual funds are schemes that do not invest only in debt papers.
- Board policy on CME. The board policy must set intra day limits for capital market exposure within these prudential limits.
- What counts as CME. Capital market exposure includes both direct and indirect, fund and non fund exposures listed in this paragraph.
- CME investment exposures. Capital market exposure includes these direct investments such as shares, convertible debt, non debt funds, REITs, InvITs, AIFs.
Changed on Apr 27, 2026.
- Use ECGC ratings. Banks must use country risk grades issued by Export Credit Guarantee Corporation of India Limited for this purpose.
- Start date. These changes will apply from April 01, 2027.
Changed on Jun 10, 2026.
- Delete paragraph 94. Banks must note that paragraph 94 under Chapter V - Exposure Norms stands removed from the main Directions.
- Set real estate limits. Each bank must set its own total and sub-limits for real estate exposure based on its business model.
The same subject for other kinds of institution
The same subject for other kinds of institution.
Other RBI rules for commercial banks
RBI compliance officer and compliance function rules for commercial banks 2026
RBI credit card and debit card rules for commercial banks 2025
Every rule page on BankPulse · Questions bankers ask, answered