Reserve Bank of India (Urban Co-operative Banks – Credit Facilities) Directions, 2025 (Updated as on July 15, 2026)
UR
- Applies toUrban co-operative banks
- StatusIn force
- ImportanceMUST READ
- IssuedNov 28, 2025
- Last amendedJul 15, 2026 · 2 incorporated
- Length99 points in 5 sections · 9 min read
The four dates on this rule
- PublishedNov 28, 2025The day RBI put this document out.
- Starts to applyNot statedNot stated separately in this document. Read the rule itself before you assume a start date.
- Time to get readyNot statedCannot be worked out until the day it starts to apply is known.
- Last date to actNot statedNo date to act by was found in this document. Other dates may sit inside single paragraphs.
Kept in your browser only. Your desk
Show me the points for
Nothing is removed from the page.
Show me the points about
84 of the 99 points name no product and bind every product. All products.
Numbers to remember
| July 15, 2026 | The version shown today was last updated on July 15, 2026. RBI Opening paragraphs |
| one per cent | A project finance exposure needs at least fifty-one per cent of repayment to come from the project. RBI Para 4(1) |
| one day | The cooling off period is set in the credit policy and can never be shorter than one day. RBI Para 11(1) |
| 24 hours | Data processed abroad must be deleted there and brought back within 24 hours. RBI Para 14(4) |
| 5 percent | The guarantee cover agreed up front cannot be more than 5 percent of the money paid out of that loan pool. RBI Para 24(1) |
| five per cent | The guarantee giver cannot carry the risk of more than five per cent of the loan pool. RBI Para 24(1) |
| 120 days | The bank must call in that guarantee within 120 days of the loan falling overdue. RBI Para 27(1) |
| ₹2.5 lakh | A loan above ₹2.5 lakh against gold or silver needs a full repayment capacity check. RBI Para 33 |
| 12 months | A consumption loan repaid in one payment at the end cannot run beyond 12 months. RBI Para 38 |
| 85 per cent | A consumption loan up to ₹2.5 lakh may not exceed 85 per cent of the pledged metal value. RBI Para 43 |
| ₹5 lakh | A consumption loan between ₹2.5 lakh and ₹5 lakh may not exceed 80 per cent of the pledged value. RBI Para 43 |
| 75 per cent | A consumption loan above ₹5 lakh may not exceed 75 per cent of the pledged metal value. RBI Para 43 |
| ₹3,00,000 | A microfinance loan goes to a household earning up to ₹3,00,000 a year. RBI Para 50 |
| three lakh rupees | A collateral-free loan to a household earning up to three lakh rupees a year is microfinance. RBI Para 51 |
What it says
Opening paragraphs
1. Latest update
The version shown today was last updated on July 15, 2026.
2. Legal basis
RBI issues these Directions using its own legal powers, in the public interest.
Chapter I. Preliminary
1. Fifty-one per cent test
A project finance exposure needs at least fifty-one per cent of repayment to come from the project.
BankPulse example. A project loan is repaid from two sources. If less than 51 per cent comes from the project's own cash flows, it is not project finance. At least 51 per cent must come from the project.
2. Lending rules for UCBs
This document sets the lending rules for urban co-operative banks.
3. Start date
These Directions took effect on the day the Reserve Bank issued them.
4. Who is covered
These Directions apply to every urban co-operative bank.
Chapter III. Digital Lending
Must know
1. Outsourcing does not shift blame
Outsourcing never dilutes the lender's own regulatory duties.
2. No dark patterns
Displayed content must be unbiased and must not push one lender's product.
3. No silent limit increase
A credit limit cannot rise on its own; the borrower must ask and the request must be recorded.
4. Money to the borrower
Loan money must reach the borrower's own account. It cannot go to a partner's account.
5. No third party in between
The flow of money between borrower and lender cannot be controlled by a third party.
6. Bank pays the partner
The bank pays its lending partner. The partner cannot collect those charges from the borrower.
7. One day to walk away
The cooling off period is set in the credit policy and can never be shorter than one day.
8. No biometric data
Biometric data must not be collected or stored unless a statute allows it.
9. Data back in a day
Data processed abroad must be deleted there and brought back within 24 hours.
10. A guarantee is not underwriting
A default loss guarantee cannot stand in place of proper credit appraisal.
11. Not on revolving credit
Default loss guarantees are barred on revolving credit and on credit cards.
12. Default guarantee cap
The guarantee cover agreed up front cannot be more than 5 percent of the money paid out of that loan pool.
13. Guarantee cover capped
The guarantee giver cannot carry the risk of more than five per cent of the loan pool.
14. 120 days to invoke cover
The bank must call in that guarantee within 120 days of the loan falling overdue.
Do it
15. Review the provider's conduct
The service provider's conduct against the contract must be reviewed from time to time.
16. Watch the loans they source
The policy must set out how loan books sourced through service providers are monitored.
17. Show every matching offer
The borrower must be shown a digital view of every matching loan offer.
18. Same treatment for like borrowers
Borrowers in the same position must be matched to lenders by a consistent method.
19. What the offer must state
Each offer must name the lender and state the amount, the tenor, the annual rate and the monthly outgo.
20. Key Fact Statement
A Key Fact Statement must be given to the borrower.
21. Publish the lending details
The lender must keep a public website carrying its digital lending details in one place.
22. Money moves directly
Repayments must reach the lender's account directly, with no pass-through or pool account in between.
23. A named grievance officer
A nodal grievance redressal officer must be named for digital lending complaints.
24. Show the officer's contact
The officer's contact details must appear on the website, the app and the Key Fact Statement.
25. Complain from the app
A complaint must be capable of being lodged from the lending app itself.
26. Collect only what is needed
Data collection must be need-based, with the borrower's prior explicit consent and an audit trail.
27. Data stays in India
All data must sit on servers located in India.
28. A published privacy policy
A comprehensive privacy policy must be published on the website and the app.
29. Name the data collectors
The privacy policy must name the third parties allowed to collect data through the app.
30. Guarantor must be a company
A service provider giving a default loss guarantee must be a company under the Companies Act.
31. Test the guarantor's capacity
Before each guarantee arrangement or renewal, the guarantor's ability to pay must be established.
32. Guarantee outlives the loans
The guarantee agreement must run at least as long as the longest loan it covers.
Background
33. Contract before any lending
Digital lending through a service provider needs a written contract setting out each side's duties.
34. Know the borrower's means
Creditworthiness must be assessed from the borrower's own economic profile before any loan.
35. Lender pays the provider
Fees due to a service provider are paid by the lender, not collected from the borrower.
36. Free exit window
A borrower may leave a digital loan during the cooling-off period without paying a penalty.
37. Consent can be withdrawn
The borrower may refuse, restrict or withdraw consent and ask for the data to be deleted.
38. Ask before sharing
Personal information goes to a third party only with explicit consent or under law.
39. Providers store almost nothing
A service provider may hold only basic contact data about the borrower.
40. Listing is not approval
Appearing on the Reserve Bank's list confers no registration, authorisation or endorsement.
41. Borrower still owes the loan
Invoking the guarantee does not reduce what the borrower owes on the underlying loan.
Chapter IV. Lending against Gold and Silver Collateral
Must know
1. Full check above ₹2.5 lakh
A loan above ₹2.5 lakh against gold or silver needs a full repayment capacity check.
BankPulse example. A borrower has a gold loan of ₹2 lakh and asks for another ₹1 lakh. The total against the collateral becomes ₹3 lakh. That is above ₹2.5 lakh, so a full repayment capacity check is needed.
2. Barred gold lending
Banks cannot lend against primary gold, silver, or financial assets backed by them.
3. Ownership must be clear
A bank cannot lend where the ownership of the pledged metal is in doubt.
4. No re-pledging of gold
A bank cannot raise its own loan by re-pledging gold or silver that borrowers pledged to it.
5. Bullet loan tenor
A consumption loan repaid in one payment at the end cannot run beyond 12 months.
6. One-kilogram pledge cap
A borrower's pledged gold ornaments cannot together exceed 1 kilogram.
7. Coin weight limit
Coins pledged by one borrower cannot cross 50 grams of gold or 500 grams of silver.
8. Up to ₹2.5 lakh
A consumption loan up to ₹2.5 lakh may not exceed 85 per cent of the pledged metal value.
9. ₹2.5 lakh to ₹5 lakh
A consumption loan between ₹2.5 lakh and ₹5 lakh may not exceed 80 per cent of the pledged value.
10. Above ₹5 lakh
A consumption loan above ₹5 lakh may not exceed 75 per cent of the pledged metal value.
Do it
11. Papers for priority lending
The policy must also list the papers to collect and keep for priority sector loans.
12. No gold loans for speculation
The bank must check that a borrower is not buying or holding gold to invest or speculate.
13. Valued at actual purity
Gold or silver must be valued at the reference price for its real purity.
14. Loan ratio held throughout
The loan to value ratio must hold for the whole life of the loan.
Background
15. Renewal within the ratio
A renewal or top-up is allowed only within the permitted ratio and while the loan is standard.
16. Bullet repayment loans
On a bullet repayment loan the ratio is worked out on the total amount repayable at maturity.
Chapter V. Microfinance
Must know
1. Microfinance income ceiling
A microfinance loan goes to a household earning up to ₹3,00,000 a year.
2. Three lakh income test
A collateral-free loan to a household earning up to three lakh rupees a year is microfinance.
3. Half of monthly income
Loan repayments cannot cross half of the household's monthly income.
4. Half the household income
All loan repayments of a household together cannot exceed half of its monthly income.
Do it
5. Household income policy
The Board must approve a policy for judging household income before a microfinance loan.
6. Income sent to bureaus
The bank must report the household income it assesses to the credit information companies.
7. Repayment limit policy
The Board must also approve a policy that caps monthly loan repayments against income.
8. Flexible repayment offered
The Board must approve a policy letting microfinance borrowers choose how often they repay.
Background
9. Household defined
A household here means the husband, the wife and their unmarried children.
10. Every loan counted
That count includes every other loan of the household, whether secured or not.
11. Old loans run their course
Loans already above the repayment ceiling are allowed to run to maturity.
12. No fresh loan above cap
No new loan may be given until the household comes back within that limit.
Chapter VI. Project Finance
Must know
1. Repayment against project life
The repayment period cannot cross 85 per cent of the economic life of the project.
2. Smaller project share
In a project loan pool up to ₹1,500 crore, each bank must hold at least 10 per cent.
3. Larger project share
Above ₹1,500 crore, the floor is 5 per cent of the pool or ₹150 crore, whichever is higher.
4. Viability study needed
A project loan pool of ₹100 crore or more needs a techno-economic viability study.
5. Fifteen days for project data
A change in any project loan detail must be recorded within 15 days.
6. Three months for systems
The system that keeps those project records must be ready within three months.
Do it
7. Credit policy covers project loans
The credit policy must carry its own clauses for sanctioning project finance.
Background
8. Closure and a dated completion
Funds are released only after financial closure, with the completion date documented.
9. Land readiness rule
PPP projects need 50% of land ready, other projects need 75%, before money is paid out.
Chapter VII. Non Fund Based (NFB) Credit Facilities
1. Guarantee ceiling
Total guarantees outstanding cannot cross 5 per cent of the bank's assets from last year.
2. Unsecured guarantee limit
Unsecured guarantees are limited to 1.25 per cent of total assets.
3. Ceilings on guarantees
The bank must set its own limits on guarantees, and tighter limits on unsecured guarantees.
4. Guarantee must be honoured
A bank must honour its guarantee when it is invoked, unless a court stops it.
5. Watch how guarantees are used
The bank must track that guaranteed money is used for the business need it was given for.
Chapter VIII. Housing Finance
1. Housing loan term limit
A housing loan must be repaid within 20 years, counting any repayment holiday.
2. Unauthorised colonies barred
No loan may be given on a property in an unauthorised colony until it is regularised.
Chapter X. Loans Against Financial Assets
1. Fifty per cent margin
A margin of 50 per cent must be kept on those advances.
Chapter XI. Discounting / Rediscounting of Bills by UCBs
1. Board approves bill discounting
The Board must lay down a bill discounting policy that matches the bank's sanctioning policy.
Chapter XIII. Miscellaneous Provisions
1. Book debt finance capped
Book debt finance cannot cross 75 per cent of the limit sanctioned for inland credit sales.
2. Finance only to members
Direct finance may go only to members, not to nominal members or through other agencies.
Chapter XIV. Repeal and other provisions
1. Later update
RBI updated these Directions again on July 15, 2026.
2. Old actions preserved
Anything already done under the old rules stays governed by those old rules.
3. Approvals carried over
Approvals given under the cancelled rules are now treated as given under these rules.
4. Other laws still apply
These Directions add to other laws. They do not replace any of them.
BankPulse example. A bank follows these Directions and thinks the matter is closed. It is not. Any other laws, rules, regulations or directions in force still apply on top. Where another one asks for more, the bank does the more.
How this rule has changed
The points above are the rule as it stands today, after every change listed here.
Issued on Nov 28, 2025. This is the date RBI put the rule out.
Changed on Apr 29, 2026.
- Housing loan tenor. Tier 1 and Tier 2 urban co-operative banks must cap housing loan period, including moratorium, at 20 years.
- Housing loan moratorium. Banks may allow housing loan moratorium only till construction end, and not beyond 24 months from first disbursement.
- Housing loan policy. Each urban co-operative bank must set credit policy covering housing loan risk control and pricing for long term loans.
- Moratorium only for under construction. Banks may give moratorium only for housing loans on under construction houses, not for buying completed houses.
Changed on Jul 15, 2026.
- Power project right of way. For some power projects, transmission right of way needs to be fixed using the rule in sub paragraph (3).
- Immediate effect date. These amendments start applying from the date of this circular without any delay.
The same subject for other kinds of institution
The same subject for other kinds of institution.
Other RBI rules for urban co-operative banks
RBI capital adequacy rules for urban co-operative banks 2025
RBI compliance officer and compliance function rules for urban co-operative banks
RBI concurrent audit rules for urban co-operative banks 2026
RBI credit bureau reporting rules for urban co-operative banks 2025
RBI credit card and debit card rules for urban co-operative banks 2025
RBI customer service and fair conduct rules for urban co-operative banks 2025
Every rule page on BankPulse · Questions bankers ask, answered